Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 49

    MW3 & Sky b'band

    This is a discussion on MW3 & Sky b'band within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; 1.6 hum should be reasonable cant understand why it would be poor speed hum...

    1. #31
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      1.6 hum should be reasonable cant understand why it would be poor speed hum


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Darren1978's Avatar
      Darren1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      Maybe I just need to give it a run on a hard wired connection and make a more informed decision on whether the connection is better over a longer period of time, rather than a handful of games?

      Matchmaking is pretty poor on MW3 on the PS3....its not often you play UK based players, seems to be mainly French, Spanish, German or Turkish!

    4. #33
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      If i where you i would get sky to uncap your upstream
      you should get 1050-1120 then
      and will be able to host a game better
      once wired

    5. #34
      Darren1978's Avatar
      Darren1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      So can anyone explain the high ping connection to games despite me having a low ping?

    6. #35
      Darren1978's Avatar
      Darren1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      If i where you i would get sky to uncap your upstream
      you should get 1050-1120 then
      and will be able to host a game better
      once wired
      The thing is though, I really don't think I get host a lot, and by all accounts I don't want to be host

    7. #36
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      darren in the mw3 settings you could change it to uk based players in the options like black ops where you search locally for players instead of searching for players outside the uk. i have mine set on local so it searches for uk players only.

    8. #37
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      Quote Originally Posted by Darren1978 View Post
      Maybe I just need to give it a run on a hard wired connection and make a more informed decision on whether the connection is better over a longer period of time, rather than a handful of games?

      Matchmaking is pretty poor on MW3 on the PS3....its not often you play UK based players, seems to be mainly French, Spanish, German or Turkish!
      Yes i noticed this on the ps3 also

      I pull host nearly every game i have played on the ps3
      and it always seems to be stinking laggy spanyards
      on a 2 bar

      On the xbox everyone is a 4 bar to me when im host

    9. #38
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      thats because xbox live is more stable kinda the psn is great because its free but its not quite stable

    10. #39
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      Quote Originally Posted by Darren1978 View Post
      The thing is though, I really don't think I get host a lot, and by all accounts I don't want to be host

      MW3 has a latency based punishment system

      due to my latency being so low
      I get punished just as much when im not host

      when i get host i actually do better
      I get punished just as hard
      but my bullets are clean

      A problem ps3's suffer is the spu's arnt used by mw3
      so you only have a single cpu

      where as the xbox has 3

      so when your host you get very bad fps lag at points
      e.g. when you run into an enemy

      the xbox doesnt suffer from this

      thats the main reason i play all my cod on the xbox

    11. #40
      Darren1978's Avatar
      Darren1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: MW3 & Sky b'band

      Hmmmm, might have to try and convince the missus we need an xbox! The trouble is, most of the guys on my friends list are PS3 players only so it would be like starting from scratch in terms of finding people to party up with.

      Thanks for all your help last night. I think I'm going to try and play hard wired for a bit and see how that goes. If no improvement then I will contact Sky and see if they can uncap mu upload speed. If that doesn't work, would the 'n' router improve things?

      I still don't understand why I connect to high ping games though....that's what is really bugging me!

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION