Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Xbox using ethernet cable

    This is a discussion on Xbox using ethernet cable within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Really stuggling with keeping a steady connection when playing online. Also happens when I'm online using wireless for my laptop. ...

    1. #1
      Holly Vom Brom's Avatar
      Holly Vom Brom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      West Midlands
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Xbox using ethernet cable

      Really stuggling with keeping a steady connection when playing online. Also happens when I'm online using wireless for my laptop. Using Sagem router [not sure which model - only sagem printed on top and underneath] and an ethernet cable to my xbox. No phone connected, just phone lead directly to router. Router displays green power light, next one along [a tick in a circle] is off, next light [wireless symbol] green, next light [@ symbol] green but flickers all the time and turns off regularly. Then Sky symbol in the middle then there are 4 lights but only number 1 is on. I dont have the foggiest what Im doing - please help me it's driving me bonkers!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Xbox using ethernet cable

      what id suggest is put your Xbox in dmz mode most sky routers allow this. like in the pix except put your games console IP in there.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Xbox using ethernet cable-new-router-settings.jpg  

    4. #3
      Holly Vom Brom's Avatar
      Holly Vom Brom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      West Midlands
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: Xbox using ethernet cable

      was about to do this but noticed it comes with a security threat and as i have 2 bank accounts on my xbox live account im reluctant to give this method a go... any other ideas??

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,908
      Thanks
      812
      Thanked 2,195 Times in 2,065 Posts

      Re: Xbox using Ethernet cable

      Unfortunately placing the IP Address for an PS3 or Xbox is normally the best solution when it comes to getting that little extra from the connection.

      It may be worth looking at your broadband connection and confirming that everything has been set up optimally. To start the ball rolling, could you please post your router's stats?

      How to get your router statistics

      If you could please include the up times in the post as well as these may provide a clue to what is happening.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Xbox using ethernet cable

      yea you get best performance putting your PS3 or Xbox in DMZ mode i have done it to my PS3 and its great on-line hardly any issues at all it puts the console outside the router yes its a bit risky but I haven't had any problems.

    7. #6
      boothy_08's Avatar
      boothy_08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oldham
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 120Mbps
      Router: Superhub 2 VM
      Sky TV: Freeview TV
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      421
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Xbox using ethernet cable

      Putting a PC/Laptop in the DMZ would be a risk because then all ports would be open which could allow hackers to gain access to the system, but a gaming console, what would a hacker gain from hacking a gaming console? I dought a gaming console could get hacked anyway.

    8. #7
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Xbox using ethernet cable

      yea plus gaming consoles there protected anyway because when you log on-line or sign in your connected to the game company's servers which are protected. so there's nothing wrong with putting your PS 3 or x box in DMZ mode.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION