Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 46 of 46
    Like Tree1Likes

    Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

    This is a discussion on Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Isitme It would probably make it worse, unless your download speed was reduced. The 'gamer profile' reduces ...

    1. #41
      JLD_89's Avatar
      JLD_89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It would probably make it worse, unless your download speed was reduced. The 'gamer profile' reduces the time available for errors to be corrected, with less errors being corrected you will get more errors and so a less stable connection.

      It would be better if you got your wiring sorted out, this would no doubt help your stability problem and possibly your ping time. That is apart from nearly doubling your speed.
      Can Sky do that for me? Does anyone know what they charge?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

      well I can play black ops now with hardly any issues allot of people have been complaining about mw3s on-line.

    4. #43
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,896
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

      Quote Originally Posted by JLD_89 View Post
      Can Sky do that for me? Does anyone know what they charge?
      If you wish to call Sky to get your line configured for the Gamer's Profile, then Sky will not charge you.

      Essentially your connection will be changed to reduced the ping primarily. In some cases the speed will be less, but also the line may become slightly less stable.

      You can always call again to get it put back to a 'normal' connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #44
      JLD_89's Avatar
      JLD_89 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984
      well I can play black ops now with hardly any issues allot of people have been complaining about mw3s on-line.
      My connection is now the same on both MW3 & Black Ops - I think most gripes now are because of the game's design rather than connection!

      I think they've done a decent job patching the lag and frame drop issues.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you wish to call Sky to get your line configured for the Gamer's Profile, then Sky will not charge you.

      Essentially your connection will be changed to reduced the ping primarily. In some cases the speed will be less, but also the line may become slightly less stable.

      You can always call again to get it put back to a 'normal' connection.
      Thanks Scubbie, but I was actually asking about rewiring the cables - should have made that clearer. Anyone know what that might cost?

    6. #45
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

      could be the game then I think.

    7. #46
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet struggling to cope with MW3 Online

      I was actually asking about rewiring the cables
      If you get BTO in at least 150.

      All you have to do is disconnect your extension from the junction box and make sure the wires to you master socket are screwed up tightly. When you have done that, take the stats from your Test socket and post them. We will advise whether it is worth getting any further work done. Keep a note of where you remove the wires in the junction box so you can return them easily.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION