Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    PS3 Crashing my Network

    This is a discussion on PS3 Crashing my Network within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys, I'm a Sky internet user and have a Netgear router that was supplied by Sky (Netgear V2 DG934G ...

    1. #1
      SCFC_Messiah's Avatar
      SCFC_Messiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      PS3 Crashing my Network

      Hi guys, I'm a Sky internet user and have a Netgear router that was supplied by Sky (Netgear V2 DG934G I believe, though I'm not sure - it's the dark grey router that has the identical casing to the Sky Sagem router)

      I have a PC and PS3 wired to the router via ethernet cable and a laptop connected wirelessly

      Over the last few days I've noticed that when I turn my PS3 on, it crashes my internet connection. I get the 'server not found' message when trying to access the internet via the PC or Laptop, with an orange flashing LED next to the '@' symbol on the router

      So far it seems the only way to reset the system and restore the internet connection once this happens is to turn the PS3 off and reboot the router, or to simply unplug the PS3 ethernet cable before once again rebooting the router

      Any suggestions why this has started happening all of a sudden and how I can go about fixing it? I have had the PS3 connected to this router for years without any problems

      Thank you very much


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      Do you have your Sky+ HD STB connected to your network as well?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      check your pc and ps3 and possibly your sky hd box to make sure there not using the same ip as if there using the same ip they can conflict and cause issues

    5. #4
      SCFC_Messiah's Avatar
      SCFC_Messiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Do you have your Sky+ HD STB connected to your network as well?
      Yes, I do have a Sky+HD box connected into the phone line. It plugs into a filter - the same filter that my router also plugs into, which then goes direct into my master socket



      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      check your pc and ps3 and possibly your sky hd box to make sure there not using the same ip as if there using the same ip they can conflict and cause issues
      PC IP - 192.168.0.2

      PS3 IP - 192.168.0.4

      Sky+HD IP - 192.168.0.3

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      Quote Originally Posted by SCFC_Messiah View Post
      Yes, I do have a Sky+HD box connected into the phone line. It plugs into a filter - the same filter that my router also plugs into, which then goes direct into my master socket
      Thank you.

      Which make and model is it please?

      So you know why I am asking, I am starting to think all the issues experienced with the new Sagem router may not actually be related to the router.

      Sagem F@ST 2304n & Sky+ HD STB

      Could you answer the following question please?:

      What make & model STB do you have?

      What version of software is it please?

      How is it connected to the router?
      (e.g. green port by Ethernet cable, HomePlugs or WiFi Media Bridge)

      Which O/S do you have on your PC?

      Also what Network Type does your Internet connect under? (PPPoA or MER)

      If you take a look at the thread I started (link above) you'll see how the information I am looking for looks.
      Last edited by Scubbie; 08-05-11 at 11:38 PM. Reason: Corrected last question

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      SCFC_Messiah's Avatar
      SCFC_Messiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      Thanks, I'll get back to you with all that information tomorrow

      Interestingly, I have a spare Sagem router that was also supplied by Sky - not sure of the model number right now, but it looks identical to the Netgear router. Anyway, at first I thought the above problem could have been caused by a faulty router, so I tried the Sagem router and although it wasn't giving me a flashing orange '@' LED like the Netgear router, it still wasn't working and I still had no internet connection. If I remember correctly, the '@' LED was constantly flashing green and on and off in a certain sequence. So I'm positive that whatever is causing the problem, it isn't the router (I'll be very surprised if both are faulty)


      I'll post the information you've requested tomorrow, thanks

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      The old Sagem which looks identical to the Netgear will be the Sagem 2504.

      Did you swap the PSUs when you changed between the routers?

      A faulty PSU can induce a fault on a router.

      Also if the old Sagem was on an old firmware version, you probably caught it in the middle of a firmware update.

      Plug it in again, if it seems dead, press and hold the reset button (when it has power) for about 50 seconds.

      I would then be tempted to leave the router connected and not do anything for around 10 minutes to allow it to settle down.

      The most recent software for the Sagem 2504 is 2.04 I believe.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      SCFC_Messiah's Avatar
      SCFC_Messiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      STB Make - Samsung
      STB Model Number - SYSF26.59.01
      STB Version Number - 9730B3
      EPG Software Version - 40.0.14.1
      STB Operating System - SYSF26.59.01

      Connection Setup - Having looked again, maybe my STB doesn't connect to my router after all!? Atl east not directly. Basically, I have a filter box plugged into my master socket that was supplied by Sky. That has two outputs - one with an internet output and one with a telephone output. My router plugs into the internet output of this filter box, with the ethernet cable then terminating in the ADSL port at the back of my router. My Sky+HD box is plugged into the telephone port of the filter box


      PC Operating System - Windows XP
      Laptop Operating System - Windows Vista
      Network Type - PPPoA

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,894
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      Thank you for that.

      Something is crashing my LAN too and I wanted to compare notes.

      I've given up on the 2304n for the moment and put the Netgear back in today.

      Hopefully things will be better for you once the PSN comes back on-line.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: PS3 Crashing my Network

      PC IP - 192.168.0.2
      PS3 IP - 192.168.0.4
      Sky+HD IP - 192.168.0.3
      If these figures are correct, your STB is plugged into the router, or possibly connecting by wireless. Who set it up for you? Do you have access to Anytime+?

      It is possible the PSU on the PS3 is faulty, can you plug it in through a surge suppressor to see if it makes any difference?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION