Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sagem Router & XBox Live

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router & XBox Live within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. I have been having issues with my new Sagem Broadband router and online gaming with Xbox live. The frustrating ...

    1. #1
      kingleds's Avatar
      kingleds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Hi. I have been having issues with my new Sagem Broadband router and online gaming with Xbox live. The frustrating thing is that I moved from O2 to Sky recently because I had these issues with O2, and when I signed up Sky assured me that Online gaming was not an issue with the service.

      Basically, whenever we use the Xobox for online gaming (specifically Fifa and Pro Evo) the connection cuts out periodically, or doesn't connect at all, and we get error messages about the NAT settings being strict. The Xbox is connected via Ethernet not Wireless.

      I have tried to put the Xbox in a DMZ, having assigned it a static IP address and manually having those settings in the Xbox network settings - not worked. I cannot find anywhere in the router where I can open the specific ports that are required.

      Can someone recommend another option - should I contact sky and get them to send me a router that actually works, or is there any recommendation on a router I can buy that would be compatible?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Make sure upnp is enabled on the router
      and do a network connection test on the xbox
      it should open a port via upnp then

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Shonk For This Useful Post:

      Mattey (20-06-11)

    5. #3
      kingleds's Avatar
      kingleds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Hi. Yes, already tried that as well. uPnP doesn't make any difference I'm afraid.

    6. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Have a look at this Port Forwarding

      Port Forwarding Video

      Side-note - Sky technical support won't provide any help with port forwarding and it is very unlikely that they would send you a new router either.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #5
      kingleds's Avatar
      kingleds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Thanks. I will try that and if it doesn't work they can have the sodding thing back and I will move everything to Virgin

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Are you connecting to the router via Ethernet cable or WiFi?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #7
      geoffxxuk's Avatar
      geoffxxuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by kingleds View Post
      Hi. I have been having issues with my new Sagem Broadband router and online gaming with Xbox live. The frustrating thing is that I moved from O2 to Sky recently because I had these issues with O2, and when I signed up Sky assured me that Online gaming was not an issue with the service.

      Basically, whenever we use the Xobox for online gaming (specifically Fifa and Pro Evo) the connection cuts out periodically, or doesn't connect at all, and we get error messages about the NAT settings being strict. The Xbox is connected via Ethernet not Wireless.

      I have tried to put the Xbox in a DMZ, having assigned it a static IP address and manually having those settings in the Xbox network settings - not worked. I cannot find anywhere in the router where I can open the specific ports that are required.

      Can someone recommend another option - should I contact sky and get them to send me a router that actually works, or is there any recommendation on a router I can buy that would be compatible?
      Hope that helps you Scrubbie

    10. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Can someone recommend another option
      The router does have Services and firewall functions, unless the firmware is corrupted. The easiest way to open ports is the use the SimplePortForwarding tool. Download it from here -
      Download Simple Port Forwarding 3.1.5 Free - Will make forwarding ports on your router as easy as a few clicks - Softpedia
      The free version will be good enough for what you require. Make sure you set it for the correct router and it is easy. If you have one of the new Sagemcom routers, use the settings for the Fast 2504. All the others are covered in the list.

      Before you set the ports, push a pin into the reset hole at the rear and hold it there till the tick light flashes. Any changes you have made to the network key will have to be reset when you are complete. This is to ensure that any settings you have made do not interfere with the new settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,893
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by geoffxxuk View Post
      Hope that helps you Scrubbie
      Ok so I missed that. A long stressful day this end.

      I trust your cheap jibe made you feel like a grown up for 30 seconds?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #10
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router & XBox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The router does have Services and firewall functions, unless the firmware is corrupted.
      Although not corrupted it is rather buggy.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION