Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    McAfee Security

    This is a discussion on McAfee Security within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I had a problem with my connection and sky made me use "netstat" in command prompt to see what connections ...

    1. #1
      JoshCoulthard's Avatar
      JoshCoulthard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113282
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      McAfee Security

      I had a problem with my connection and sky made me use "netstat" in command prompt to see what connections were coming onto my router. Turns out there were excessive amounts so they told me to download McAfee Security Centre from them. I have no idea what this has done, sometimes the same amount of results are returned on "netstat", sometimes it's less. Either way, no I'm having major issues connecting to Xbox LIVE. I tried uninstalling the software but it seemed to make no difference so I reinstalled, and I can only install it once more, should I uninstall it again. I've reset my Sagem F@st 2504 router, but it's makes little difference. I've turned windows and McAfee firewalls off, with no difference.

      Can anyone help please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      What's the actual problem you're having? If it's slow speed related, then reply with your stats:

      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      Don't quite get why you were told to run a netstat on the PC if your issue was with xbox live.

      Would have been better to get you to turn the PC of so that it wasn't making outgoing connections and therefore could have deciphered if it was the PC that was causing the issue or not.

      When using your xbox are you trying to connect wireless?

      Do you know the server location that you are connection to?

      I am assuming at this point that your issue is high ping times.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #4
      JoshCoulthard's Avatar
      JoshCoulthard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113282
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      It's not ping, I can't connect to Xbox LIVE half of the time, and then when I do, I can't connect to the third party servers like EA or Activision. It didn't do this before I installed McAfee, but as I said, removing it did not solve the problem. The reason I used netstat was a different problem where the line was inconsistant, but I'm almost postive that's down to the router.

    6. #5
      JoshCoulthard's Avatar
      JoshCoulthard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113282
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      The Xbox is wired, I don't know the server.

    7. #6
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      Kk just wasn't getting why you would have been asked to do a netstat if the issue was with the xbox when you could just have been asked to turn of the PC and then try it again.

      Could you post your Router Stats
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    8. #7
      JoshCoulthard's Avatar
      JoshCoulthard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113282
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16576 kbps 1153 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.5 db 12.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 8.7 db

    9. #8
      JoshCoulthard's Avatar
      JoshCoulthard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113282
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      copy and paste failed me lol, I can type them out if needs be?

    10. #9
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      With that attenuation would be possible to get between 16-18Mb but won't go any higher with that noise margin.

      you could try the test socket to see if the SNR improves but that might not solve your main issue.

      With the SNR being at 6 it could be that you router is loosing sync have you noticed this?

      Would it be possible for you to post your WAN uptime?

      Can't see how mcafee would affect the xbox when its installed on the PC

      You could try running a speed test to see what speed your getting incase the line is building errors. Would also give you an idea if your ping times are bad which could be what is stopping you getting into the games.

      might be worth taking a look at this Xbox troubleshooting
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 07-03-11 at 09:41 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    11. #10
      JoshCoulthard's Avatar
      JoshCoulthard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113282
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee Security

      I think it's something to do with my ports or the firewall.
      The router is what I think causes the intermitent connection (not the primay issue at hand but still irratating).
      How would I obtain my WAN uptime?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION