Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    xbox problems

    This is a discussion on xbox problems within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there advice needed please. My sons have xbox 360's in there bedrooms and both have wired connections to the ...

    1. #1
      ALIPOPSJANE's Avatar
      ALIPOPSJANE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      xbox problems

      Hi there advice needed please.

      My sons have xbox 360's in there bedrooms and both have wired connections to the router in the living room .

      When one goes on xbox before the other, the second one gets a ''strict'' connection on black ops and the first to connect will get a ''moderate'' connection - im told this isnt great. The strict connection will stop them from getting into games and recently thats started to happen even with a moderate connection !!




      Its all beyond me, but any help would be great

      Thanks

      Ali


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: xbox problems

      What router do you have? Do you have UPnP enabled? Are they using port forwarding? The answers to these may help get advice.

      Some Sky routers are difficult to get 2 xboxes working with Open NAT,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ALIPOPSJANE's Avatar
      ALIPOPSJANE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox problems

      Hi
      Its a netgear dg834gt
      UPnP is enabled
      They say they dont have port forwarding

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: xbox problems

      I thought some of the gamers would have come in with some advice, I don't have 2 xboxes so can't say for sure if this will work, but you may want to give it a try.

      1. Go to this thread Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live plug in one of the Xboxes and follow the instructions in the thread to set it up. When you have done it, check that it is getting Open NAT.
      2. Unplug the first box and plug in the second, follow the instructions in section 2 of the thread to give the box a reserved address. Change last 3 digits to give it an address of 192.168.0.150.
      3. Now go to the WAN setup of the router settings and tick the box to use the DMZ server and put the 192.168.0.150 address into the address box. Check that it is getting Open NAT.
      Connect both boxes and check the NAT state.
      Remember to click Apply with everychange you make to the router settings.

      As I said, I don't know if this will work, there are certain routers which support double Open NAT 'out of the box' but the Netgears and the Sagems don't, although it has been reported that the new Dlink does.
      Maybe some one will pitch in with more help, if it is required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,460
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 118 Times in 113 Posts

      Re: xbox problems

      I havnt got a 834gt so cant say if this will work for sure
      but this is what i would do

      Check upnp is enabled
      Reboot the router (as sometimes old builds of upnpd crash)

      Turn both xbox's off
      Turn back on and do a network connection test
      and it will open a new port forwart on the router

      If that works
      next time you get mod or strict nat
      all that is needed is a reboot of the modem
      and rebot of the xbox's

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION