Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

    This is a discussion on Help. NOOB with Xbox :( within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys, sorry to bring up another xbox thread. Ive looked through loads but I cant get connected to my ...

    1. #1
      stevobeavo's Avatar
      stevobeavo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not sure
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Hi guys, sorry to bring up another xbox thread. Ive looked through loads but I cant get connected to my Router.

      I have a black Sagem router. My xbox 360 has the newer black wireless adapter and it can pick up my router downstairs, but when I enter the Network key printed on the back of the router and press enter. Nothing happens.

      When I was with orange I did the same thing and it worked striaght away.

      Please can someone help me.

      Cheers stephen

      EDIT - is it worth changing my security setting from WPA-PSK to WEP


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Are you entering the network key all in capitals?

    4. #3
      stevobeavo's Avatar
      stevobeavo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not sure
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Yes I am. Its a 8 letter capital.

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Ok, first off change the channel on the router from auto to something else. Apply that and try and reconnect as you've been doing with the 8 letters in capitals. If still no joy, then changing the encryption to WEP would be the next step.

    6. #5
      stevobeavo's Avatar
      stevobeavo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not sure
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Well changed channel to 01 and it worked been offline for over a month lol.

      Thank you so much. Your a legend

      Many tahnks Stephen

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      No problemos.

    8. #7
      Owsee's Avatar
      Owsee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Hi Guys,

      How do you change the channel?

      Thanks

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Help. NOOB with Xbox :(

      Getting tired of telling people not to hijack threads!
      To change the wireless channel log into the routers config pages go into wireless settings and then change the channel there. You'll find details of how to do that on the netgear router on the left hand side of the page under "setting up wireless"

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION