Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    PS3 Wireless Gaming

    This is a discussion on PS3 Wireless Gaming within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Okay, since I moved into my new house over 2 years ago I have had to connect my PS3 to ...

    1. #1
      EvenMoreUseless's Avatar
      EvenMoreUseless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edwalton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      PS3 Wireless Gaming

      Okay, since I moved into my new house over 2 years ago I have had to connect my PS3 to the internet wirelessly. This is very annoying and has given me endless problems. It used to be disconnecting from the PSN (Playstation Network) but now it's just slow peak time speeds and ping.

      Currently, I'm having to move my PS3 to the downstairs TV, connecting via ethernet and playing in the middle of the day.

      This is not always going to be possible and It will mean I have to stay on the 3rd floor of my house with my router on the 1st floor.

      I get between 55-70% signal strength.

      Router stats currently: (Middle of the day)
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 77023 136743 0 987 27347 01:51:04
      LAN 10M/100M 5261 1181 0 475 35 01:51:29
      WLAN 11M/54M/270M 143020 83120 0 27686 1371 01:51:18

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6912 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.0 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 20.0 db




      Those stats are literally the best I'll ever get (DL/UL and Ping)

      I have a Netgear DGN2000 Router that works fine.

      What can I do to be able to play upstairs?, I can't take a cable up there.

      Should I consider switching ISPs for better peak time connection?
      I've heard stuff about LLU and changing the channel my router uses, I have no idea what either of those mean....

      Heres what happens on a good day at peak times:



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      Quote Originally Posted by EvenMoreUseless View Post
      Should I consider switching ISPs for better peak time connection?
      Check SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search. Enter your postcode and search. If you have any LLU at your exchange, then you're best changing to that if you want a service that is not traffic managed.

      Quote Originally Posted by EvenMoreUseless View Post
      I've heard stuff about changing the channel my router uses, I have no idea what either of those mean....
      Connect an ethernet cable from computer to router > open a browser window > type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar > username: admin password: sky > click ok > click 'set-up' in the top left > change the channel to something else > apply at the bottom of the page

      Monitor it from there and see if the signal is any better. If not, then change the channel until you have the best signal.

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,285
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      With a line attenuation of 16 you should be syncing much higher than 7 meg, nearer to 20 should be possible.
      Try your test socket and see what stats you get from there.
      You can ask sky to reduce your max delays which will give you a lower ping.
      Apart from the above I think you realise that using wireless isnt ideal for gaming, you may want to consider homeplugs if you cant get ethernet to where you need it.


    5. #4
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      Are you actually on SKY Connect?
      If you are then absolutely check samknows for your exchange and change onto one of the LLU providers as connect is severely throttled. Your stats show you have a very short line which should be capable of getting nearly the max from an ADSL2+ connection.
      If you are actually on SKY Unlimited then your likely just experiencing wireless problems your connection is also heavily capped and you should phone sky to get that lifted and have your max delays reduced to 8. You will also want to consider running an ethernet cable to your PS3 or getting some homeplugs.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    6. #5
      EvenMoreUseless's Avatar
      EvenMoreUseless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edwalton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      @User05
      I have used that SamKnows website, It seems that I have O2/BE LLU Broadband available. Which would be my prefered choice? Surely they are just the same?
      Also, my router should be fine and not need changing?

      @Dholdi
      Whats my 'test socket'?

      @simonmpoluton
      Home plugs use the wiring in your home right?, This house I'm in is very old and has had some renovation work done, could this be a problem?

    7. #6
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Are you actually on SKY Connect?
      Please answer this and update your profile if neccessary.


      Homeplugs use the electrical wiring, they arent as good as a direct ethernet cable will be faster in all cases. They can slow down when the electrical wiring is old but they will still work well enough for internet usage. Dont expect to be able to stream HD video from your PC to your PS3 with them though!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    8. #7
      EvenMoreUseless's Avatar
      EvenMoreUseless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edwalton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      Quote Originally Posted by simonmpoulton View Post
      Please answer this and update your profile if neccessary.


      Homeplugs use the electrical wiring, they arent as good as a direct ethernet cable will be faster in all cases. They can slow down when the electrical wiring is old but they will still work well enough for internet usage. Dont expect to be able to stream HD video from your PC to your PS3 with them though!
      Having gone over the paperwork, I can confirm I'm on sky connect. What does that mean? (I didn't think I was though, hence my profile details... Looks like I've stayed true to my username )

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      If that's the case then get off it and if o2/be are the only LLU available at your exchange then they would be the best to move onto. With your line on one of there LLU services you should be able to get a very good high speed connection.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      You are on the rebadged BT service which is very poor. My advice would be to move to O2 as soon as possible.

      See this thread - (Unofficial) FAQ - Sky Connect Users

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      EvenMoreUseless's Avatar
      EvenMoreUseless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edwalton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Wireless Gaming

      I did the BT Speed Test and got:
      Download speedachieved during the test was - 3899 Kbps
      For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
      Additional Information:
      Your DSL Connection Rate :6912 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP Profile for your line is - 5500 Kbps

      I will do another one later, around 6.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION