Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Disconnecting from xbox live?

    This is a discussion on Disconnecting from xbox live? within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I need some advice for what to do with my problem, Basically i disconnect from xbox live a lot it ...

    1. #1
      Josh Saunders1's Avatar
      Josh Saunders1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Disconnecting from xbox live?

      I need some advice for what to do with my problem, Basically i disconnect from xbox live a lot it is rather annoying when trying to play an online game of call of duty or any game to be honest, it ranges from every hour to several hours before disconnecting, i have to wait several minutes to reconnect i believe it is something to do with the signal as im in my room which is above the router.... but surely the router should be able to go through the cieling. I do not experience any lag during games it literally just suddenly disconnects without warning?? any help please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      do you mean disconnecting from a lobby game or do you mean from xbox live altogether if its the live service itself i dunno what it could be have you tried opening the ports for it through your router theres a site called portforwarding i think type in google which tells you the ports for that service. if its the lobby disconnecting then your not alone i also get kicked out of a lobby game it happend a few times think last night or the night before not sure.

    4. #3
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      Next time it happens, go to the router and check the internet light is still on (the 'i' symbol if you have the white netgear or the @ symbol with the black sagem/netgear). If it's off or flashing amber, then the connection from the exchange has dropped.

      If it stays on, then it's likely a wireless issue. Wireless in itself is not a good idea for gaming altogether - you'd be best running a long ethernet cable or buying homeplugs alternatively. Other than that, changing the channel on the router and monitoring it for improvement is all you can do wirelessly, really.

    5. #4
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      I've been using Wireless for online gaming since day dot on my Xbox and have had no issues. I don't understand why people blame wireless for a lot of issues. Chances are that your internet connection re-syncs.

    6. #5
      duck86's Avatar
      duck86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      It's a wireless problem, I've been having the same issue for some reason... usually works perfectly...Had to run a cable across the room so I can get my fifa fix

    7. #6
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: dreytek vigor 130 modem + archer c7
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      also im having issues with it disconnecting from live it cuts off altogether but usally its in early hours maybe sky are resettting it or something or doing a test on the line i dont use wireless all my computers are ethernet so cant understand it

    8. #7
      corrosion's Avatar
      corrosion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prestwich - MRPRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Prestwich, Manchester
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      I'm having the same issue. I'm being logged out of PSN and XBL, depending which I'm logged in to, of course, regularly, to the extent where I can't enjoy a decent online gaming session. It happens at any time of day, both in the week and at weekends. Both connections are wired, so it definitely isn't a wireless issue. This has only started occurring in the last two or three weeks. I've reset the router and tried several 'fixes' I've found online, but to no avail.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      Corrosion, post your router stats from the current position and also the TEST socket.

      How to get your router statistics

      and

      How to test your ADSL in the Master Test Socket

      Also, next time you are logged out, run and check which lights are on the router.

    10. #9
      corrosion's Avatar
      corrosion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prestwich - MRPRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Prestwich, Manchester
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      Hi Smithy

      Stats are -

      Current

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12286 kbps 1102 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 17.7 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 6.6 db


      Test Socket

      Er...this may sound a little odd, but I can't find the test socket anywhere. I know what they look like as we had one in out old house, but this is an old house and the previous owners had an...odd...way of doing things. The main socket isn't a test socket and I can't locate one anywhere else around the house. This can't be normal, surely?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting from xbox live?

      The easiest thing to do is to follow the main BT wire coming in, the first socket it reaches should be the master socket, remove the faceplate and see if it has a capacitor on the back, it looks like a small aaa battery, remove any wires in terminal 3.

      How many other sockets are there and are they all filtered. Ensure the ADSL filter is the very FIRST thing plugged into the socket.

      Post some pics if needed.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION