Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 40 of 40

    Occasional Lag

    This is a discussion on Occasional Lag within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; They wont remove the cap unless you phone them and get them to remove it....

    1. #31
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      They wont remove the cap unless you phone them and get them to remove it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      XGL_Lynx's Avatar
      XGL_Lynx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      England
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      They shouldnt of done it in the first place!

    4. #33
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      DLM does it automatically and its skys current policy to use DLM for the most part the DLM ensures that lines are configured for stability.

    5. #34
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ASUS DSL-N66U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      DLM does it by itself, there is nothing you can do about it because DLM is an automatic program that is ran on every new line for 10 days and if DLM detects and faults or disconnects such as people pulling out the power from the router it will put a cap on the line, whether you like it or not. The only way of removing the cap is to phone sky and ask them to remove it.

    6. #35
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      The cap in place may be down to internal wiring and/or a set-up fault. It's not that uncommon for the SNR to be high and still be erroring. Then again, it may be down to DLM being too conservative, but I'd ensure everything is ok regarding internal wiring in the house before calling sky to make sure.

    7. #36
      XGL_Lynx's Avatar
      XGL_Lynx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      England
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      So ive rang them and apparently they cant "cap" connections and I should try change my "port number". How do I do that?

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      I think they were probably referring to the Channel number. I sounds like who you were speaking to was not really 'with it'' Are you still trying to use wireless? You have been told to try ethernet or Homeplugs if you can't run a wire. There are certain conditions where wireless will just not work. It looks like yours is one of them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      XGL_Lynx's Avatar
      XGL_Lynx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      England
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      Ive done what they said and now nothings connecting to it. ****ed up man. Have to borrow my nans router...


      They said connect everything up via wired connection, but my laptop still isnt connecting... I really need to get things fixed, probs changing to BT soon my mum and dad been talking about it

    10. #39
      sbarkeri's Avatar
      sbarkeri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shipley, W.Yorks
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      If you can't connect anything to your router just give it a hard reset, (Push the button at the back of it in for about 5 seconds), that will reset it to the factory settings. The fact is that if the wireless isn't working you need to think about investing in some homeplugs as wireless is quite frankly *beep* for gaming.

      On a side note, if you haven't already, I would also suggest you contact Sky and ask them to lower your Max Delays which would hopefully result in a better ping.

    11. #40
      XGL_Lynx's Avatar
      XGL_Lynx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Location
      England
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Occasional Lag

      I cant be arsed with sky, my mum and dad are to lazy to call them, they cant be bothered to change to BT

      And what your telling me is different to what they are telling me, sky is so ****e

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION