Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

    This is a discussion on Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Currently I have my Xbox connected to my laptop via ethernet, then wireless to the Sagem Router. I have Internet ...

    1. #1
      waddi's Avatar
      waddi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      Currently I have my Xbox connected to my laptop via ethernet, then wireless to the Sagem Router. I have Internet sharing enabled on the laptop, therefore I can connect to live.

      Just read that If I can get a router that supports "client mode wireless" I can connect the xbox to this instead of the laptop, leaving the laptop free to be used and not tied down to the xbox.

      Does anyone know if I can do this with a Sagem fast 2504?

      So to recap, I have a Sagem fast 2504 as my current router, I also have a spare sagem fast 2504, I want to be able to plug this spare router into my xbox and bridge the wireless between the 2 routers to enable me to access XBOX live.

      thank you all.


      Connection Speed 7004 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 17.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      Why on earth would you rather use wireless than ethernet for gaming?

    4. #3
      waddi's Avatar
      waddi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      The position of the xbox and router does not able me to directly link them together via ethernet.

      I currently have th xbox connected to a wireless laptop via ethernet, but the laptop is then connected wirelessly to the router. whenever I want to go on live I have to connect to the laptop which then puts the laptop out of use for my wife, or she is restricted to sitting near to the xbox.

      What I aim to do is to cut out the laptop and connect wirelessly to the router via a "bridged" router" acting as a reciever for the xbox.


      Connection Speed 7004 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 17.0 db

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      Rather than wireless bridging, which I don't think is possible with the Sky routers, why not use Homeplugs? These give very close to ethernet performance, far better than wireless.

      XBOX 360

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      waddi's Avatar
      waddi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      I take it that to use home plugs, the Router and the xbox have to be on the same circuit?

      Or atleast the two homeplugs have to be plugged into sockets that are on the same circuit?


      Connection Speed 7004 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 17.0 db

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      As long as they are on the same phase running through the same meter, there should be no problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      waddi's Avatar
      waddi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bridging XBOX through a spare wireless router

      Thanks alot, got some comtrends for 20 second hand, work a treat.


      Connection Speed 7004 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 17.0 db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION