Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 35

    Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

    This is a discussion on Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I consider myself quite good with things like this. But cannot get round this error. I have the Black Netgear ...

    1. #1
      conkerwodds's Avatar
      conkerwodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      I consider myself quite good with things like this. But cannot get round this error.

      I have the Black Netgear Router with Sky firmware. I have been trying all weekend to get my 360 connected to xbox live with an ethernet cable. I can run the test on the 360 and it connects to the router, and to the internet but will not connect to xbox live.

      I have opened all the ports, assigned a static IP address to all things connected to the router, and yet still no luck. Any further suggestions. I have even run the program on PortForward.com - Port Forwarding Guides Listed by Manufacturer and Model to see if all my ports are open. And they are.

      HELP!!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyconnectsufferer's Avatar
      skyconnectsufferer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: holland on sea
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      sometimes this can mean that xbox live itself is not working,when you do the test there is a small box in the bottom right corner i think that gives the status of xbox live and tells if there is any problems with it at all.

      ive had a look about google but havnt found anything concrete so far although i remember having this problem before myself.

      when you boot up your xbox 360 is the ethernet cable already plugged in to the 360 or do you connect the cable once the 360 is up and running? little things like this can cause problems as the connection can be a bit touchy with how you connect things.

      it best to always have it connected as it starts trying to communicate through the cable to the internet.

    4. #3
      conkerwodds's Avatar
      conkerwodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      The cable is already in the 360 when I turn it on. The status says "Xbox Live Is Up And Running", but it always fails the test right at the end when it trys to connect to live.

    5. #4
      pau1200's Avatar
      pau1200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halesowen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      Can you browse the market place?

      If your xbox has a static ip address now but that in the DMZ section on the basic settings page. That should fix your problem.

    6. #5
      conkerwodds's Avatar
      conkerwodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      My IP address is already in the DMZ settings. I cannot browse the marketplace. Everytime I try to connect to xbox live, it says connection failed, even though it connects to the router, and the internet.

    7. #6
      conkerwodds's Avatar
      conkerwodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      If someone could post pictures of their on screen router setup, so I can make my settings the same, that would be great.

    8. #7
      pau1200's Avatar
      pau1200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halesowen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      In the manual settings page on your xbox have you set the ip address to your router i.e 192.168.1.1 and also set the dns settings to the same address.

      Do you have any problems surfing the net on a pc?

    9. #8
      conkerwodds's Avatar
      conkerwodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      I can surf the net fine on my laptop, and my netbook. I have put the ip address in the manual page of the 360 settings. I have also reserved that ip on the router. DNS settings are also set.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      conkerwodds's Avatar
      conkerwodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox Live - Cannot Connect - Help!!

      Hi Isitme, yes I have read it all, and I have already done everything on this tutorial. It's so frustrating.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION