Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    New to Xbox live

    This is a discussion on New to Xbox live within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just got myself an Xbox 360 and got set up on live, I've currenty got my Xbox connected to my ...

    1. #1
      waddi's Avatar
      waddi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Xbox live

      Just got myself an Xbox 360 and got set up on live, I've currenty got my Xbox connected to my laptop via Ethernet and then wireless to router.

      I can connect to Xbox live and it seems pretty stable, I've got a Sagem Fast 2504 with unlimited Sky broadband.

      Any tips or advise anyone could suggest. Open ports, Port Fowarding etc.


      Connection Speed 7004 kbps 606 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48.0 db 26.8 db
      Noise Margin 5.0 db 17.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      I've never had to open/forward ports for any of the games I play on pc or xbox.
      That was the case with both Sky and now with O2.


    4. #3
      kinchy's Avatar
      kinchy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      If it works then dont play about with it !!!!

      I had a BT homehub before Sky and was having all sorts of problems. On MW2 i was always getting NAT Type : Strict

    5. #4
      cornish hosting's Avatar
      cornish hosting is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      cornwall
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    6. #5
      cornishsky's Avatar
      cornishsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Helston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      Ports recommended are TCP 80, UDP 88, UDP 3074, TCP 3074, UDP 53
      TCP 53, yet if your box is reporting no problem when you run a live test in the system blade then its all gravy, NAT open, sweet

    7. #6
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      There's an intersting postscript to this. I've a Sagem router and had it set to pick an IP address via DHCP. Everything worked fine. But when I decided to put a fixed IP address in (was fixing several devices I have so thought I would also do the Xbox) I got the NAT type strict issue. When I opened the ports as cornishsky mentions everything worked ok again.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      You will get much better results by connecting the Xbox by ethernet rather than wireless. Use Homeplugs if necessary.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You will get much better results by connecting the Xbox by ethernet rather than wireless. Use Homeplugs if necessary.
      Totally agree with you Isitme, Homeplugs are excellent and that is how I connect my Xbox to the router BUT I don't understand why changing from DHCP to fixed IP (and not changing anything else) should have an impact on NAT levels.

      Also I've tlaked to someone who has Virgin and has found by turning Upnp OFF works for his NAT levels whilst under Sky we are advised to have them on

    10. #9
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      I have another post running Xbox connection problems which shows I can't get Solwise HomePlug 85 Mb to work. Everything is OK via direct LAN cabling but some Solwise Homeplugs have a firmware problem that needs recitifying by returning them to Solwise.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Xbox live

      Solwise have a good name for producing electronic devices, but in view of the problems being experienced with the Xbox, it may be better to give the 85mbps plugs a miss. I have recommended and installed them for a couple of friends and they are quite happy, but they do not use Xboxes. Most here report that Develo plugs seem work without problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION