Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi folks, Recently joined Sky and having bother getting this bloody Sagem router to give an actual IP address to ...

    1. #1
      Arthur Hucksake's Avatar
      Arthur Hucksake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue

      Hi folks,

      Recently joined Sky and having bother getting this bloody Sagem router to give an actual IP address to my 360s or PS3.

      It has been working fine, no problem. But every now and then the router decides to issue an outright strange IP address to my 360s or PS3.

      Rather than DHCP issuing one that made sense such as 192.168.0.5 or whatever, it's giving it an ip similar to 169.254.177.2!!!

      Any idea wtf that is all about?

      Cheers,

      - D -


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Arthur Hucksake's Avatar
      Arthur Hucksake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue

      Ack!! Nevermind, its ok now. Its just a little slow allocating an IP thats all. Doh.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue

      169 addresses are internal addresses assigned when an IP is not received by DHCP if I remember correctly. Just means no IP given by the device controlling IP addresses in the first place.
      Have you assigned manual IPs to the machines? If you do this the router doesn't have to worry about it so they machines won't hit 169s.

    5. #4
      Arthur Hucksake's Avatar
      Arthur Hucksake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      169 addresses are internal addresses assigned when an IP is not received by DHCP if I remember correctly. Just means no IP given by the device controlling IP addresses in the first place.
      Have you assigned manual IPs to the machines? If you do this the router doesn't have to worry about it so they machines won't hit 169s.
      I'm going to do that from now on actually. Just have to work out how to do it for the laptop in windows 7.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem Router - Weird DHCP / UPNP Issue

      Dead easy.

      Right click the network icon bottom right, open network and sharing centre. Choose your connection, on mine it is, Local area connection 2, select that one, then click properties, then double click Internet Protocol Version 4, tick use the following IP address, put in the desired IP ie 192.168.0.5 subnet mask 255.255.255.0 then default gateway 192.168.0.1

      Tick use the following DNS server address, 192.168.0.1

      Bob's yer uncle.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION