Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Losing the will to live

    This is a discussion on Losing the will to live within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Gonna get some homeplugs after Christmas, currently using both routers although not at the same time! Still not heard from ...

    1. #11
      Jamie31's Avatar
      Jamie31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Miles away
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      Gonna get some homeplugs after Christmas, currently using both routers although not at the same time!

      Still not heard from Sky( we will ring you within 48 hours) what a joke.

      1, It takes 3 weeks to get new router
      2, They send the wrong one
      3, Will call you in 48 hours

      Great service not!
      Last edited by Jamie31; 15-12-09 at 04:18 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      Quote Originally Posted by Jamie31 View Post
      1, It takes 3 weeks to get new router
      Not normally, usually takes around 5 days

      Quote Originally Posted by Jamie31 View Post
      2, They send the wrong one
      The will send one of the three they supply, they will not specify which one you will receive

      Quote Originally Posted by Jamie31 View Post
      3, Will call you in 48 hours
      No they won't

    4. #13
      Jamie31's Avatar
      Jamie31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Miles away
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Not normally, usually takes around 5 days



      The will send one of the three they supply, they will not specify which one you will receive



      No they won't
      They said it would take 3-5 days...

      They said we are sending you the Sagem router (3 ariels)

      We will call.

      I think Iv bitched about if for long enough now but it amazes me just how poor such a big company can be with such small problems, see Im bitching again lol sorry!

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      They said we are sending you the Sagem router (3 ariels)
      That's interesting, they must be sending you a Beta router, the one they normally use does not have 3 aerials. If it is using multiple aerial technology, you will need a MIMO adapter to take full advantage.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Jamie31's Avatar
      Jamie31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Miles away
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      Well finally sky called today just to say that they cannot help me! He said now I have the two routers I could make a wirelss access point and one router connected to the PC as it is now and the other as an access point next to my PS3.

      I asked him how to do this and he said he cannot tell me.....lol, I wished him and sky a merry christmas after that.

      So guys how do I do that??

    7. #16
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      I went thought using wireless repeaters etc and although they can boost your signal their actual throughput is rubbish.

      In the end I dumped the who wireless thing and went with homeplugs.

      As to how to do it on your 2 routers you'll need somebody who knows the 2 routers to talk you though it.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Losing the will to live

      I don't think it is possible for Sky routers to use wireless repeater mode. They have to be flashed to non Sky firmware, even then they may not support it. The only way you can use 2 routers is to join them by ethernet cable, which you don't want to do. By a set of homeplugs and your problem will be solved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION