Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

    This is a discussion on Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; None of us are having a laugh at you mate, we are all here to help if we can. The ...

    1. #11
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

      None of us are having a laugh at you mate, we are all here to help if we can.
      The best advice is to get yourself off sky's connect and onto llu, 02 seeems to be your only option for this and believe us it will be ultimately better.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

      That is the sign of a service that is struggling, no surprise there.

      I wouldn't take that sites stats too seriously though, there spped tester site is useless.

      Try a ping directly from the cmd prompt, that will give you a better real time idea.

      You need to move ISP's, did you get your MAC yet?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

      Go on have a laugh at this
      One thing to note is unless you are located in Ireland, the Dublin server is not the quickest, even if it is recommended. I have had better results from Moscow than Dublin.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      LimeBowler's Avatar
      LimeBowler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

      Recently my Ping's haven't been very good, with them reaching 500 every 10 or so minutes before returning to about 50.

    6. #15
      Jamie31's Avatar
      Jamie31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Miles away
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband





      Is mine as bad?

    7. #16
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

      makerr
      Hi a good idea is to do a Bt speed test Sky will only except the Bt speed test the way of knowing that your on the Connect package which is a Bt re-badged product is 448kbps upload but as advised LLU at your exchange is what you need. There are quite a few members of Sky User that are on O2 also Skyuser has a sister site O2User - Unofficial help and support forum for O2 you could also have a look at o2 forum


      LimeBowler
      Hi a good idea is to start your own thread also have a look at the connect threads there are a few

      Jamie31

      Hi if you can start your own thread and put in your router stats

    8. #17
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Red Bar Gaming= Sky broadband

      The PingTest site is useless as an indication of how good gaming will be on a line unless it uses UDP, which, it doesn't.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION