Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    Modern Warfare 2

    This is a discussion on Modern Warfare 2 within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I'm looking for some help with MW2. I get very bad lag while playing the multiplayer and as much ...

    1. #1
      Mike.c's Avatar
      Mike.c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Modern Warfare 2

      Hi,

      I'm looking for some help with MW2.

      I get very bad lag while playing the multiplayer and as much as I'd like to blame IW for their poor P2P setup, everyone I know seems to have a lag free experience. Based on this I'm inclined to think its something on my end that is causing the poor performance.

      I've turned down all settings and checked the FPS with FRAPS, but to no avail (constant 91 FPS, regardless of settings). I also always have 3-4 green bars on the ingame ping display (honestly numbers would be soooo much better!!).

      So I've turned on the ingame lagometer in the mp_config to get some idea of whats happening. The result is not good, as you can see in the following image:



      The blue triangle represents where the game is in sync, the yellow, where the game is out of sync. When out of sync I get the lag, which involves the screen jerking and skipping. Also on the graph you'll see the many red bars and this is where packets are being lost and what I think is causing the game to become out of sync. You can just about make out the green running along the bottom and this represents my ping, which as you can see is actually quite good.

      Is anyone else experiencing this, know what might be casing it or found a possible cure(please!)?

      My computer specs are as follows:

      2.4 Quad Core (no overclocking)
      ASUS PK5 Motherboard (onboard lan)
      4GB Ram
      Nvidia GTX 275 GFX Card
      Windows 7

      I've updated all the drivers and Windows, but with no result. I've also turned UPNP on and off, forwarded all the ports and rebooted the router.

      I'm on Sky Connect package (I know... doesn't help my situation to begin with!) and my router stats are as follows:

      System Up Time: 97:57:01

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 129988 158104 0 124 375 44:45:14
      LAN 100M/Full 476559 767588 0 710 278 97:56:56
      WLAN 11M/54M 112840 69354 0 305 27 97:56:43
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25 db 12 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 26 db

      If you need more detailed stats or in a different format, please let me know how.

      Any help is greatly appreciated and if you need any more info, let me know.

      Cheers,

      Mike.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      Sky Connect - enough said...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Mike.c's Avatar
      Mike.c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      Quote Originally Posted by IWasNotTheEnemy View Post
      Sky Connect - enough said...
      Thanks that's helpful.

      So would changing ISP to say BT improve my line quality?

    5. #4
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      Sky and other services that use Sky (UKOnline) get shaped pretty badly.

      Around 50-60% packet loss on UDP (the protocol games use) is normal for their service based on my own experience.



      A typical example from a UK server if I remember correctly.

    6. #5
      Mike.c's Avatar
      Mike.c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      Quote Originally Posted by Btcc22 View Post
      Sky and other services that use Sky (UKOnline) get shaped pretty badly.

      Around 50-60% packet loss on UDP (the protocol games use) is normal for their service based on my own experience.

      Ouch..... that's not good.

      So only option would be to change provider?

      Just to add, i think there may be an issue with my router. Ever since I signed up with Sky I have never sucessfully run the Sky test from the router page. It has always given me the error code 300. Would this have anything to do with insane packet loss?

    7. #6
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      No idea, but connection tests tend to fail here too during the evening. They'll either never start or time out.

      All I'll say is that I wouldn't use Sky Connect or UKOnline.

      You can use TPTest to help with UDP testing, but it only has Swedish servers.

    8. #7
      skyconnectsufferer's Avatar
      skyconnectsufferer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: holland on sea
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      yeah sky connect sucks for gaming mate,i would lose connection to games of zombies on world at war all the time.its cos they throttle the connection at peak time(5-12pm) to absurdly low levels.

      how long have you been with sky on connect for? if longer than 12 months then i'd ask them for your mac code and get a good service with another isp.

      DO NOT CHANGE TO BT!

      sky connect is a bt product resold by sky with their name on,u would get same issue if u went with bt.i went with idnet cos i couldnt get llu broadband service on my local exchange hence why i had to try connect in the first place.but idnet are awesome cos you get maximum speed pretty much 24/7.

      SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search

      use the above link to see what exchange you are on,let us know then we can help you choose whats the best service for you to get.

    9. #8
      Mike.c's Avatar
      Mike.c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      Quote Originally Posted by skyconnectsufferer View Post
      yeah sky connect sucks for gaming mate,i would lose connection to games of zombies on world at war all the time.its cos they throttle the connection at peak time(5-12pm) to absurdly low levels.

      how long have you been with sky on connect for? if longer than 12 months then i'd ask them for your mac code and get a good service with another isp.

      DO NOT CHANGE TO BT!

      sky connect is a bt product resold by sky with their name on,u would get same issue if u went with bt.i went with idnet cos i couldnt get llu broadband service on my local exchange hence why i had to try connect in the first place.but idnet are awesome cos you get maximum speed pretty much 24/7.

      SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search

      use the above link to see what exchange you are on,let us know then we can help you choose whats the best service for you to get.
      Thanks, glad to know I'm not the only suffering at the hands of connect. Unfortunately it looks like I don't have much choice:

      SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Hethersett (EAHET) Exchange

      Sorry, forgot to mention that I'm at 12 months in December.

    10. #9
      Mike.c's Avatar
      Mike.c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      I was on MW2 quite late last night (9pm - 2:45am) and around 12:30 I started to notice a slight improvement in packet loss. It continuted to improve until I had no packet loss what so ever, from 1:30 onwards.

      Well I was kind of happy with that, because at least I knew what it was and it wasn't just a case of an unstable line. However, I get up this morning and think it can't possibly be peak hours at 10am on a Saturday, I should get some lag free gaming in.

      Wrong!! first game I join I get the same packet loss I was experiencing at peak hours. Try a different game and the same occurs again.

      What's going on?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Modern Warfare 2

      If you are a gamer and cannot get any LLU providers then you should seriously consider the Plusnet gamers package. There is not much out there that will beat it for gaming.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION