Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    OMG really P****** me off!

    This is a discussion on OMG really P****** me off! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I had a sky router that had a problem that at time it would connect and sometimes would not connect ...

    1. #1
      ultimate123's Avatar
      ultimate123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OMG really P****** me off!

      I had a sky router that had a problem that at time it would connect and sometimes would not connect for hours with the 360/PS3, however when I changed the channel to 11 it was flawless however that router broke down and sky sent me a new one 2 days ago. The connection has been fine up until now where the same problem has happened. I have tried every channel but it simply won't connect and I'm just getting mad. It detects the router but fails to connect. Can someone please help me.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Don't use wireless and get homeplugs instead - it'll save a LOT of hassle...ESPECIALLY gaming (which should never be done over wireless anyway)...

      The sooner ISPs ditch wireless the better IMO...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      ultimate123's Avatar
      ultimate123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      Don't use wireless and get homeplugs instead - it'll save a LOT of hassle...ESPECIALLY gaming (which should never be done over wireless anyway)...

      The sooner ISPs ditch wireless the better IMO...
      There really isnt another option for me sadly. The online was great, flawless even on my old router but it ain't working on this. Can anyone PLEASE help?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Why isn't it an option? which router did you have and which have you got now?

      Homeplugs will ultimately end all these issues...have you noticed any new routers coming up on scans of late? possibly a new, more powerful router is nearer your PC/console than your Sky one...

      This is why I don't use wireless as things can just go wrong and take forever to resolve...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      ultimate123's Avatar
      ultimate123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Can anyone please help? It aint even connecting today.

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Have you considered the possibility the router may be fine and its your laptop that has the problem?
      Suggestion have been made which you say are not an option. Why?
      What is your current set up? Router make and model. ?
      Have you tried connecting with Ethernet cable ?

      Also "It detects the router but fails to connect. Can someone please help me."
      being as its a new replacement router, have you actually enabled wireless?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,892
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Also "It detects the router but fails to connect. Can someone please help me."
      being as its a new replacement router, have you actually enabled wireless?
      It would not be detected if the wireless was not turned on Joss

      Did the OP change the network key and SSID in his PC when he got the new router? It will not connect with the old ones.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      ultimate123's Avatar
      ultimate123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Ok further discovery, PS3 works fine, but the 360 can't obtain IP adress. Anyone know what the problem could be. I mean the PS3 works fine but the 360 doesn't?

    10. #9
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It would not be detected if the wireless was not turned on Joss

      Did the OP change the network key and SSID in his PC when he got the new router? It will not connect with the old ones.
      Doh! thanks for that Isitme.

    11. #10
      The_Batman's Avatar
      The_Batman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 028
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OMG really P****** me off!

      Best option for online gaming is just going threw a hard wired connection

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION