Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    World of Warcraft

    This is a discussion on World of Warcraft within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I play WoW a lot, haven't experienced any lag yet. I get around 40ms latency. Only thing i did find ...

    1. #11
      Rezza's Avatar
      Rezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wokingham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Wokingham
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I play WoW a lot, haven't experienced any lag yet. I get around 40ms latency. Only thing i did find though was it took far longer than expected to download the latest 3mb patch. But that was before i had turned off UPnP.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      kevt's Avatar
      kevt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy

      Another night with huge lag spikes and very high latency. This is the second time I've experienced this. Router reboots seemed to temporarily cure it twice, but it's not a practical solution for a ZG run. 5 plus seconds lag and latency at 2000ms and above

    4. #13
      Defoe's Avatar
      Defoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi all,

      I too am having difficulty playing World of Warcraft over Sky BB.

      Im currently attempting to play wirelessly, but was going to try wired to see if it would fix my problems.

      Im getting anything from 90ms to 3000ms with frequent 5-10 second lag spikes, and comlpete disconnects roughly twice an hour. My flatmates also complain about slow loading times on websites. (They dont game or d/l much).

      It seems to get worse when there is more action happening on the screen, although this could me my imagination (or coincidence). Its definitely not video lag as my computer is well specced and I have not had this problem on other connections.

      Im thinking changing to wired might help, but I thought I would check here to see if there are any better solutions.

      Im also about to try Dawn of War to see if its any better, perhaps just a WoW issue, although I have a very bad feeling its just a crappy connection to the house.

    5. #14
      kevt's Avatar
      kevt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      WOW Fine

      I think I got to the bottom of the problems I was having. Basically, its down to the noise margin. It was falling to below 6dB whenever the lag spikes and disconnects happened. So I made sure to reboot the router in the evening and it seems ok now. I'm connecting marginally slower 10 instead of 12, but its much more stable.

      Also, I have found wired to be much more stable. I used to use wireless, but so far for me wired is better with this router.
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-12-06 at 08:38 PM. Reason: Removed full quote of preceeding post

    6. #15
      Inept's Avatar
      Inept is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i am the best at WoW

      i win at life.

      thanks.
      I am the Capri Sun King

      - Society of Inept Baboons -

    7. #16
      mrdead's Avatar
      mrdead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: World of Warcraft

      Hi,

      Ive recently signed up for sky broadband and i cannot connect to ANY online games I play WoW, Everquest 2, and SWG and i cannot connect to any of them.

      Whenever i try and log in to WoW all i get is an error message saying "Unable to Connect" i've tried following blizzards help and support tips and none of them have worked, please help me

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: World of Warcraft

      Did you install McAfee (or something similar)? If you did, temporarily turn it off and see what effect that has. Sounds like a firewall problem to me.

    9. #18
      mrdead's Avatar
      mrdead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: World of Warcraft

      no i didnt, and ive already opened up the ports needed on my windows firewall

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: World of Warcraft

      Have you made any other changes to your router firewall settings?

      Also, temporarily close everything which can limit internet connections.

    11. #20
      mrdead's Avatar
      mrdead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: World of Warcraft

      no all i have done is installed the router and thats it...

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION