Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Terrible Connection

    This is a discussion on Terrible Connection within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey, First time posting on the forum as ive had no luck with sending emails or phoning up. Basically as ...

    1. #1
      Jay_boyo's Avatar
      Jay_boyo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Terrible Connection

      Hey,

      First time posting on the forum as ive had no luck with sending emails or phoning up.
      Basically as the title says ive got a really bad connection problem. Past 3 oclock in the afternoon I am unable to play any games on multiplayer, buffer any videos, login to chatting programs such as MSN, Xfire and Steam Friends.

      The sky support on the phone said it was most likely to be becuase I download to much and that they are throttling my connection, even though I do not download much at all. Most of my time on the net is spent either playing on games or watching videos, so I cannot see how I am affecting other people much at all.
      I really dont know what to do anymore as when I phone up the sky support they give me very vauge information and tell me to send Emails to them and then when I send Email they tell me to phone them up.
      One thing that i have noticed recentaly is the Noise Margin on my router changing very strangly, here are some of the readings off it.

      Noise Margin - 8db
      Noise Margin - 6db
      Noise Margin - 7db
      Noise Margin - 6db
      Noise Margin - 2147483647 db
      Noise Margin - 2147483647 db
      Noise Margin - 0 db

      This has only started happening recently and I think is causing me a lot of dc.

      Any help would be grealty appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      CHR15T1E's Avatar
      CHR15T1E is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elmswell
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Suffolk, UK
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      Could you plug your router directly into the BT test socket mate and see how that goes, phone extensions can cause interference you see

    4. #3
      Jay_boyo's Avatar
      Jay_boyo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      Yeah, its already plugged into the main socket

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      There is a difference between the main socket and the test socket, see sig for details.

      This will disconnect all the other internal wiring and give you the cleanest connection available to you for testing.
      Last edited by Smithy99; 02-07-09 at 06:45 PM.

    6. #5
      Jay_boyo's Avatar
      Jay_boyo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      The Noise margin problem only happenes every now and a agina so its not too much of a porblem. Atm its running at around a constant 10db. But I still cant seem to connect to any servers and if I can connect it will dc every few mins

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      Are you using wireless? if so try wired or homeplugs.

      Your noise margin is dropping so much that you are loosing connection, you need to sort that out so that you can then see about other things.

    8. #7
      Jay_boyo's Avatar
      Jay_boyo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      Running off a 15m Lan cable atm, not sure if its too long or not.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      No problems with 15m, 200m is ok and i've used 300m before now.

    10. #9
      Jay_boyo's Avatar
      Jay_boyo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      any ideas what else could be causing it ?

      Ingame im getting a very low amount of bandwith, playing arma2 im getting around 10-15 when everyone else on pretty much all the servers are looking at around 500-1000 this is what I think is causing me a lot of lag and the Noise margin is causing the dc
      Last edited by Jay_boyo; 02-07-09 at 06:46 PM.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Terrible Connection

      Chances are it;s your internal wiring which is why connecting it to the test socket and getting the stats is advised.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION