Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Ping Times changed on there own ??

    This is a discussion on Ping Times changed on there own ?? within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; i requested for my max delays to be changed as i was getting bad lag online Before it was changed ...

    1. #1
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Ping Times changed on there own ??

      i requested for my max delays to be changed as i was getting bad lag online

      Before it was changed it was 56

      After the change it was 25

      i done a ping check to Google yeterday it has now gone up to 35 is that normal guys any ideas ???



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      yes, and 35 is still low...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      Thanks very much i was dreading it slipping back to what it was before LOL

    5. #4
      russ555's Avatar
      russ555 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      I would like a lower ping how do i go about getting it done? and are there any downsides to doing so?
      Last edited by russ555; 27-06-09 at 06:18 PM.

    6. #5
      CHR15T1E's Avatar
      CHR15T1E is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Elmswell
      Broadband ISP: ADSL24
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Suffolk, UK
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      No downside mate, just use the kana form on sky's website, its in the contact us area

    7. #6
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 41 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      yes downside to lowering ping rates can be packet loss if signal quality poor make sure that your not having any packet loss before requesting change and double check after changes because packet loss will make connection worse than before change

    8. #7
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      Quote Originally Posted by tenar View Post
      yes downside to lowering ping rates can be packet loss if signal quality poor make sure that your not having any packet loss before requesting change and double check after changes because packet loss will make connection worse than before change

      how do you check for packet loss ???

    9. #8
      superping's Avatar
      superping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      Quote Originally Posted by Chaos66 View Post
      how do you check for packet loss ???
      If you give sky a call cst can check for packet loss and make sure the connection would support a lower max delay all at the same time

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      the OPs delays are already at 8s, so calling CST will likely lead to an auto regrade and a rise in the delays...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      superping's Avatar
      superping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ping Times changed on there own ??

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      the OPs delays are already at 8s, so calling CST will likely lead to an auto regrade and a rise in the delays...
      Can you please look up at russ555 post and tell me the question it asks.
      I was answering both questions at the same time

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION