Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 83

    PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

    This is a discussion on PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; im sorry but i have done everything you have said but no luck, psn timed out every time, would someone ...

    1. #61
      slauser's Avatar
      slauser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      im sorry but i have done everything you have said but no luck, psn timed out every time, would someone please help me.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      edward1920's Avatar
      edward1920 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      hi chaps

      having posted on here not too long ago thought i would update you - last night i was finally able to connect PS3 online. The only thing i did different to people's advice was instead off turning the router off for 5-10 minutes, I left it off for 24hrs. I tried it last night and was able to obtain an IP address straight away and connect! No idea why this worked, but not complaining.

      Thank you for the help guys.

    4. #63
      jamie7's Avatar
      jamie7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: SKY MAX
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      how do i change the dns and ip address for the ps3

    5. #64
      superping's Avatar
      superping is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Here is another couple of dns servers for you folks that should work:

      212.168.1.36
      195.40.1.36

      These are easynet dns servers.

    6. #65
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      I'm still getting my issues... this is more or less my setup:



      Router 1 (192.168.0.1) looks like this with PS3 directly connected but switched off:



      Then I switch the PS3 on:



      After 20 seconds when it reconnects:



      My IP address didn't change after the drop out although you can see the DownStream Connect has

      The PS3 I have set a static IP; here is the info:



      I'm thinking about buying a switch instead of router 2....

      any one any ideas?

    7. #66
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Why not use OpenDNS servers? 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.222.220

      Any chance of borrowing a friends PS3 and cable? If it works OK it would narrow the problem down to a fault in your PS3/cable. I can't think on any other reason it would knock your connection down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #67
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      try changing your static IP to .20 instead of .10? perhaps theres some kind of bug where the 0 is being lost so is using the same internal IP as the router? (wild shot in the dark! lol)

      Or you haven't modified any of the mac addresses to match which would also cause a problem?

      Is DHCP etc all turned off on router 2? so its basically acting as a switch?

    9. #68
      antonychan's Avatar
      antonychan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      hi im antony in new here

      i play online fine on cod4 and fifa with my friends but for some reason on fifa i cant play my brother? i dunno were the settings are ? is it on the address bar i.e. (http://192.168.0.1) or are the setting in the ps3?

    10. #69
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      The settings you need to change are in the PS3. Remember to give them different IP address. I don't know if you can connect 2 PS3s using the same router to the same server.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #70
      antonychan's Avatar
      antonychan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      thank you for your reply

      could u please talk me thought the instructions on how to do it on the ps3 i would be very grateful

     

     
    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION