Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 83

    PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

    This is a discussion on PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Something has definitely changed I never really had a problem before but lately it has been terrible. The problem I ...

    1. #11
      BillyHunt's Avatar
      BillyHunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Something has definitely changed
      I never really had a problem before but lately it has been terrible.
      The problem I have with open DNS is that I already use Open DNS to filter inappropriate sites on the Kids PC's
      I normally use Skys DNS on the PS3 to be sure everything gets through as I've password protected the browser.
      I may try Open DNS as is and see if everything works OK.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      B20's Avatar
      B20
      B20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Hi guys, new to the forum and not to clued up on all these settings so go easy on me please

      Do I change the DNS settings in the PS3 settings or the router? I've been having this problem since the last update but yesterday it wouldn't connect at all and after 2 calls to Sky and one to Sony I was no closer solving it. Both were blaming the other and neither had any suggestions.

      Thanks

      Mark

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      In the PS3 - Welcome aboard.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      Shakaka's Avatar
      Shakaka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Follow the prompts given at the start of the thread...............works perfect and has got me back online playing FIFA Ultimate Team so am BUZZZIN

      Top Job!!

    6. #15
      B20's Avatar
      B20
      B20 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Quote Originally Posted by Shakaka View Post
      Follow the prompts given at the start of the thread...............works perfect and has got me back online playing FIFA Ultimate Team so am BUZZZIN

      Top Job!!
      That's what I was trying to play last night! So frustrating, was looking forward to seeing what stuff had sold and bam....801707102 DNS error! Dammit

      Cheers for the tips anyway peeps, I'll be trying it as soon as I get home from work!

    7. #16
      Shakaka's Avatar
      Shakaka is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Darlington
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Best of luck mate and if you fancy a game i am Shakaka79 on PSN.

    8. #17
      sstephney's Avatar
      sstephney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Man u saved my life. Thank you back on cod 4

    9. #18
      git131269's Avatar
      git131269 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      doing my lines..

      "I AM A STUPID DUFUS FOR NOT CHECKING SKYUSER FIRST"
      "I AM A STUPID DUFUS FOR NOT CHECKING SKYUSER FIRST"
      "I AM A STUPID DUFUS FOR NOT CHECKING SKYUSER FIRST"
      "I AM A STUPID DUFUS FOR NOT CHECKING SKYUSER FIRST"
      "I AM A STUPID DUFUS FOR NOT CHECKING SKYUSER FIRST"

      must have been an update issue. mine went DNS error this evening..
      ..searched for ages using google before coming in here.

      Much credit for bringing a solution to the problem

    10. #19
      kirsty_steer88's Avatar
      kirsty_steer88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      SE Kent
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      Hi there, i was wondering if you could help me. I have been having this error code problem lately with my ps3 and its been driving me mad. I've still been able to use the web just not sign into PSN. I have reset router, network settings etc. And eventually i am able to sign back in. A day later the problem starts again! This may sound silly but the problem only started after i moved my ps3 for the 1st time into another room in a year!

      Anyway, i tried your solution, but it didnt work. I am not sure that i did it right. I was wondering if you could help me with which code went where please. Like which one for Ip address?? Which 1 for default router etc.

      Many Thanks Kirsty

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: PS3 DNS error-- How to solve it!

      The router IP is 192.168.0.1 if that helps.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION