Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

    This is a discussion on unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Im new and apologies if I have the wrong forum, I am going to explain my problem if you ...

    1. #1
      Red88's Avatar
      Red88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      Hi, Im new and apologies if I have the wrong forum, I am going to explain my problem if you feel that I have reached the wrong outcome please say so otherwise I would appreciate help unblocking my ports.

      Since I've had my sky router (netgear) I have experienced good pings and connection but the line has almost unstable with constant problems.

      Bf2 and mods gets 'Connection Lost' every 15-30 minutes
      Ventrilo cannot connect to any servers just constantly trying to reconnect (10stop, 9stop, etc.)
      Most steam related games (css) get a 'Client dropped by server' message

      From lots of research I pretty sure that the problem is the router (Im sure its not any software firewalls as windows has been turned off and avg uninstalled).

      Now I have found help on this site to 'unblock the ports' but I have no idea which settings to change on the 'firewall rules' so as to apply to steam games (mainly counter strike source) and or bf2.

      Any help would be greatly appricated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      Are you connecting by wireless? If you are that is more likely to be the fault.

      You can get full instructions on opening ports for almost every game from here PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall just click your router name and then the game, make sure you choose the manual method each time and don't get sucked into paying, unless you want to of course. When you are entering the user and password, remember these are admin and sky, not the netgear default.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Red88's Avatar
      Red88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      thankyou il try that, and no its ethernet cable

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      Is it just the connection to the game you are loosing, or the internet connection? Maybe you should post your stats and let people have a look, you may have a basic problem with your connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Red88's Avatar
      Red88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      which stats would you like me to post and how would I find them out (eg. would I have to type something into commandpropt)?

      thanks

    7. #6
      Azasmith's Avatar
      Azasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrowden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Wellingborough, UK
      Posts
      292
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      The stats we need are found by pointing your browser to 192.168.0.1 and logging in with the "Admin" & "Sky" details unless changed by yourself.

      Then at the bottom of that page it says Show Statistics.

      this will bring up two tables.. Just copy and paste the details from the bottom table.

    8. #7
      Red88's Avatar
      Red88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/7106/inforouter.jpg

      My stats are on that link, thanks for the help.
      I was wondering if you could help me at all with my port forwarding dilemma, after following the guide there is a setting that I am suppose to change but I cannot see it.

      I go into greater detail here, portforward.com forum - Port Forwarding Netgear DG934G problem please help

      Thanks

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      Your stats are not bad, you could do better but as you have been up running for nearly two days, I don't think that is your problem.

      I think the "Add New Port Forwarding Rule," page you are looking for is the Services, that is where the ports are actually opened. Is this the bit you mean -


      Click the Services link and it will open the Add Services page.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please-capture.jpg  

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Red88's Avatar
      Red88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      I've been up for around a year, I just twiddled with the settings, seconly if thats the port fowarding then I did it and the port opening didnt work.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: unblocking ports maybe? help to stabilize connection please

      How did you check if the ports were opening? Remember you have to be logged into the server before they will show as open. Checking on Shields-up for instance when you are not, will show them closed or stealthed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION