Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Bit of good honest advise required please.

    This is a discussion on Bit of good honest advise required please. within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey guys Need a bit of advise regarding my neatgear DG834GT router. I have it all set up in a ...

    1. #1
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bit of good honest advise required please.

      Hey guys
      Need a bit of advise regarding my neatgear DG834GT router. I have it all set up in a room in the upstairs of my house, now while i can surf the internet ok on my laptop downstairs it is a pain in the rear while trying to play online on my ps3. It lets me sign in ok but it is laggy as hell.
      So what i want to know is how easy is it to take my router downstairs and hook it up to my laptop is there anything i need to know how to do to have it setup on both comps. Or if it is possible to take router down everytime i want to play ps3 and hook it straight into ps3. I just need to know the best way to get best possible connection when gaming online.
      Any help would be greatly appreciated, and to anybody who does try to help imagine your trying ti explain it to a 5 year old
      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      Your best location for the router would be your main telephone socket, anywhere else may just add issues to the line. Can you post a set of stats from the router in your current position and a set from the main socket itself? Once we see the stats we can tell you where to plug it in for best performance on the line.

    4. #3
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      Thanks for quick responce.
      What stats is it you require?
      Thanks

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      It would be best to connect the router to the master socket via a filtered faceplate and then use homeplugs to send it to the PS3 for gaming, wireless sucks for gamers.

      You could also use a homeplug to connect the PC as it will be faster and more reliable, you can even get wireless extender ones for the laptop.

    6. #5
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      I have a filtered faceplate but no homeplugs. Is there just no way to have the router connected to ps3 as well as being setup upstairs. I hardly use comp upstairs (just use for downloads) i use my laptop which is ok but the location of my router at the moment is my problem plus my house is built with a steal frame so my signals probably bouncing all round the place.
      Cheers

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      Your choice is either homeplugs and use the existing house wiring or to wire up the house with CAT5e ethernet cable.

      As said above wireless and gaming do not mix and you need your router near your filtered faceplace to get the best possible speed.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      I have never heard of homeplugs have just googled it and read up a bit on them. Do you need a paticular type of homeplugs for sky router and where would be the best place to get them?

    9. #8
      Nat562's Avatar
      Nat562 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      You don't need any particluar one as far as i know, i bought 2 homeplugs on amazon for my PC upstairs as wireless barley worked on it, i bought 2 Value homeplugs.
      Basically it uses the electrical system in the houses walls to carry the network signal, i'm as far away from the router in my house than it allows but i get almost full strength with the homeplug, havn't had one problem so far.


      If you want a quick debrief on homeplugs;

      What there is usually is 2 plugs, one of which plugs into a plug socket next to the router and the other somewhere in the house you want internet, you plug in a Ethernet cable from the homeplug into the device (router and PC) and voila, you should have internet, there is like a 1-2% chance it won't work but you rarely see cases like that.

    10. #9
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      I work at B&Q and they have something called a wireless extension kit which comes with 2 mains plugs that sound very much like homeplugs one of the plugs has 2 holes that look like where you plug ethernet cables to and the other only has one. Do you think these are the same type of thing?

    11. #10
      mikewillow's Avatar
      mikewillow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bit of good honest advise required please.

      Just an add on. My main telephone socket is right next to my ps3 so would i still need to get signal boosters?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION