Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 75

    broadband speeds for gaming

    This is a discussion on broadband speeds for gaming within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I meant you had already posted your stats in post #6 above...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      I meant you had already posted your stats in post #6 above

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      Ah I see! Im still learning you see, I've only just sussed this cut and paste what would be easier would be if i could just tell the computer what to do!

      Can you tell me about the router wether to leave it switched on at all times or if its ok to turn off at night i used to get better speeds when I'd just switch it on to go on line, although now im in the test socket they seem much more stable even when its left on. What actually happens when you switch the router on and off?

    4. #33
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      You can turn the router on and off but it is not a good idea because DLM can think that there is a problem with the connection when there is none and possibly cap the speed, I would say keep it connected as much of the time as you can.

    5. #34
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      I see, it will be left on from now on then, thanks for that.

    6. #35
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      whats the noise margin about on router stats?
      previously my stats have been-
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 48:31:20

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2354562 3934577 0 0 0 11:11:13
      LAN 3739733 2211931 0 0 0 48:31:20
      WLAN 218565 160807 0 0 0 48:30:58
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5110 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 21.0 db

      now the noise margin is as follows (router still in test socket 58 hours)
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 61:23:30
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2624921 4087354 0 0 0 2:11:07
      LAN 3830946 2439013 0 0 0 61:23:30
      WLAN 282527 205726 0 58 0 61:23:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5110 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 1.3 db 21.0 db
      why has the noise margin gone from 6.3db to 1.3 what does this mean?
      Now this morning its gone back up.......
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 72:00:44
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2627179 4090099 0 0 0 12:48:21
      LAN 3830946 2439013 0 0 0 72:00:44
      WLAN 286208 208494 0 0 0 72:00:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5110 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 6.0 db 21.0 db
      Last edited by james.; 19-04-09 at 09:45 AM.

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      If you are in the Test socket then the noise margin is changing because off changing noise on the external line. There is nothing you can do about this unless it is a fault and then only if it is effecting your voice line. In a few instances the ISP may ask BT to do a broadband check, but this does not happen too often as it is an expensive job.

      Kitz gives a good explanation and comparison in this piece on SNR,
      ::. Kitz - ADSL Router Line Stats .::

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #37
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      Thanks again Isitme for sharing your knowledge! I am learning, very slowly!
      Last edited by james.; 19-04-09 at 06:03 PM.

    9. #38
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      That is one big noise margin swing from day to night, it would show a problem somewhere between you and the exchange just as isitme says.

    10. #39
      Bufferz's Avatar
      Bufferz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Location
      Wallasey, Nr. Liverpool
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      You're best leaving the router on to be honest, stuff the environment , as others have said it will stop the dlm thinking you have problems, plus the router will draw about 100mA, so approx. 24w of power, less than a light bulb!
      With SkyBB:


    11. #40
      james.'s Avatar
      james. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband speeds for gaming

      For anyone thats been reading this thread, I fitted my filtered faceplate today, very easy to fit very pleased with results here they are from the router stats before and after fitting

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 100:17:30

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2883766 4214021 0 0 0 15:13:20
      LAN 3919972 2668801 0 0 0 100:17:30
      WLAN 323638 236552 0 0 0 100:17:08
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5110 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 5.5 db 21.0 db
      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 100:43:11

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 499 552 0 0 0 0:06:18
      LAN 3919972 2668801 0 0 0 100:43:11
      WLAN 325570 238247 0 0 0 100:42:49
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5119 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.5 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 20.5 db
      Also phoned sky to see if I upgraded to max if theyed give me anymore upload speed than normal because i wouldn't benifit from the extra download speed but all they'll give is the 768kbs as advertised. It'll be 72 hours before i get the max I'll post wether upgrading improves xbox live gaming then.
      Does anyone know if I should do that thing where you reboot the router for the first ten days then leave it on or is that only for new connections not upgrades?

     

     
    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION