Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    WoW and Sky

    This is a discussion on WoW and Sky within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Aye, I'm having the same trouble exactly. Every time I phone Sky they give me the whole "have you tried ...

    1. #11
      Eldrick's Avatar
      Eldrick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: harston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Aye, I'm having the same trouble exactly. Every time I phone Sky they give me the whole "have you tried plugging into the test socket .. yada yada yada" I leave them to run their line test and don't get phoned back when they're supposed to. When I call back to check the issue they've always closed the call because there is apparently "no problem with the line other than BT throttling it at the exchange".

      It's really frustrating as I only swapped across to Sky a month ago but now I'm stuck with a line I can't play WoW on for another ten and a half months...

      my pathping from last night was giving a 97% pack loss when it hit 5acf0006.bb.sky.com [90.207.238.6]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Quote Originally Posted by Scott1980 View Post
      5 months down the line and they're putting me on or giving me 'fast path'.

      Spoke to someone in the escalations team who was very helpful and understood straight away what the issue was and explained the only thing they could do that may rectify the issue.

      Customer relations (tier1) started off with "everything is working as it should sir, we think your only option is to consider swithing providers" I love that line.

      Cheers for all the help, reading the threads on here made resolving this issue (hopefully) much easier.
      (i know this is an old post, but still)

      Fastpath won't actually help much during the peak hours as the issue is with capacity, not pings being high...you'll find it better off peak but I doubt there'll be much difference peak time...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      simonk1991's Avatar
      simonk1991 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      yeah im thinking about it to its bloody awful the signal here

    5. #14
      davedarave01uk's Avatar
      davedarave01uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin + Vivaciti
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Does the Fast path have 'Interleaving turned off'?

      Ive just got my new ISP and I requested it be turned off and my online gaming is 10 times better now.

    6. #15
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Quote Originally Posted by davedarave01uk View Post
      Does the Fast path have 'Interleaving turned off'?

      Ive just got my new ISP and I requested it be turned off and my online gaming is 10 times better now.
      Yes IL is switched off for Fastpath

    7. #16
      Tashady1977's Avatar
      Tashady1977 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thame
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Oh my god this is just great, been reading this post, im on sky connect too, have been since Dec 08. Im having problems with online gaming, problems ive never had with BT. Keep getting disconnected from the server. I keep phoning sky and they dont know why, all the keep tellingme is fast path this and fast path that. and yet they still havnt got me on fast path. And they tell me, SKY BROADBAND IS NOT FOR GAMING. Great, fantastic. So i guess I have to switch providers again....or wait, can I seeing as i still have 7 months contract left with them. I feel let down big time by sky, pestered me to change to them promising me the same service or better than i was on with BT option 3. And so far its been worse...much worse in fact. I dont know what to do know. Hope that doesnt mean i have to be stuck with this problem for 7 months.

    8. #17
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Scott1980
      connect Customers who put Bt speed performance tests in posts for reference. So CST have information regarding each individual connect Customer just in case there is other issues with their connections
      Tashady1977
      kevsaints Just an update to my previous post page 101... Sky have agreed to cancel our contract ( broadband/tv) with no financial penalties. In addition we can keep the sky + box etc.We were 6 months in to our contract but after seeking legal advice and holding them to there own terms and condition's we can finally jump ship lol....
      a little persistence can pay off so good luck to those who want to get rid of connect.
      Undecided Adrian
      As Adrian says More information on connect.
      Hope you are able to get things sorted for yourselves. Good luck

    9. #18
      Mems's Avatar
      Mems is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      Are you on Vista? Are you wireless? If yes to both, the sudden jump, for me, was because Vista occasionaly scans the area for new networks for you to join, causing a sudden packet loss whilst it does so.

      If you download WLAN optimizer, found here

      WLAN Optimizer .NET

      And make sure this is ALWAYS running, you may notice that your issue is resolved.

    10. #19
      AngryAnt's Avatar
      AngryAnt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLKKB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      (might be an old post, but thought might aswell reply).

      Also on connect, and been having the problems of being disconnected from server with on wow during peak times.
      Having just spoken to a man at the sky solutions (who did a line check), basically if you go over 1.4 gigs a day, they then throttle you for all the day. At least thats the impression he gave when i told them i was experiencing this outside of the hours.

      & since the routers are constantly on, and if you leave msn and firefox open aswell as wow... Can sure see just how easy it is to pass that limit (which isn't a massive one).

      Hope you've been able to sort your problems, since raiding and sky don't seem to go together.

      Think it might be time to start looking at changing isp's myself. Anyone able to reccommend one that doesn't throttle insanely?

    11. #20
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: WoW and Sky

      o2 LLU or get a gaming package from somebody like Zen etc
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION