Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Another World of Warcraft question

    This is a discussion on Another World of Warcraft question within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all Just new to the forum so be gentle with me I am having major disconnection issues on WoW. ...

    1. #1
      Sturmdave's Avatar
      Sturmdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burntisland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Another World of Warcraft question

      Hi all

      Just new to the forum so be gentle with me I am having major disconnection issues on WoW. It seems particularly bad at night.

      I'm on Connect and through running speed tests on this site I seem to go from 5-6000kps download during the day to 1-2000kps at night. Also at night I find it hard to stream anything and downloading takes forever, e.g. Pinger took about a min for a small file.

      Could it have anything to do with needing to port forward - I never used to have to and it works fine during the day. Could it be down to Connect?

      Here's Pinger results I just took -

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7680 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18 db 8 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 26 db

      Any help is greatly appreciated.

      Thanks,
      David


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      DTfan's Avatar
      DTfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portadown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      You are on connect, this is where most people are having problems as this is not Sky LLU network, it is known that BT traffic shape in the evening to be honest there is not much you can do, unless your exchange is LLU then ask to be moved over.

    4. #3
      matzy's Avatar
      matzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      this must be my problem too then, as I know I am Connect. Its making it very problematic as its worse during raid-times - during a short 2 hour raid, today, I had to log twice as my lag spiked to 2,000ms + ... all it takes to rectify is a relog - but if this is mid-fight its a real problem.

      I called to get some advice from Sky this evening ... their response?

      "Sorry, as you are a Connect customer there is nothing we can do to sort this out"

      I then asked if I could leave my contract early then, because I cannot use my connection for the purpose I want to use it.

      I was told "Of course you can but you will have to pay for the remaining 9 months of your contract".

      I feel stuck now and Sky have told me in no uncertain terms they cannot help.

    5. #4
      fugly's Avatar
      fugly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hereford
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 3
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      Quote Originally Posted by DTfan View Post
      You are on connect, this is where most people are having problems as this is not Sky LLU network, it is known that BT traffic shape in the evening to be honest there is not much you can do, unless your exchange is LLU then ask to be moved over.
      Its not BT its sky throttling all on the connect package

    6. #5
      DTfan's Avatar
      DTfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portadown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      How can sky throttle something that they do not run?, its a BT connection on the BT network.

    7. #6
      fugly's Avatar
      fugly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hereford
      Broadband ISP: BT Option 3
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      It is sky, I just spent 4 frustrating months on the connect package and so did some homework on it, there's plenty threads on it around these forums
      Sky Connect Broadband - Are you being slowed down?

      Throttling?

    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      Quote Originally Posted by DTfan View Post
      How can sky throttle something that they do not run?, its a BT connection on the BT network.
      They can, I am sorry to say its easy enough to do as well.

    9. #8
      matzy's Avatar
      matzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      well, its getting no better. During peak hours I seem to get disconnected every 20 mins or so, or at least have a bad lag spike.

      I spoke to sky and was told that they cannot offer me any support as I am "connect" customer. I am only a few months into my contract as well, and have been told I can cancel, but I will owe them for the rest of the year.

      A warning therefore to anyone else thinking of changing to Sky to cut costs.

      Check you wont be on connect package if you game, as sky will tell you where to shove it when you come to ask for help ... tbh its enough to put me off sky completely. I dont care if its sky or BT throttling my connection - I should be allowed to leave my contract due to the issue.

    10. #9
      simonk1991's Avatar
      simonk1991 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      Quote Originally Posted by matzy View Post
      well, its getting no better. During peak hours I seem to get disconnected every 20 mins or so, or at least have a bad lag spike.

      I spoke to sky and was told that they cannot offer me any support as I am "connect" customer. I am only a few months into my contract as well, and have been told I can cancel, but I will owe them for the rest of the year.

      A warning therefore to anyone else thinking of changing to Sky to cut costs.

      Check you wont be on connect package if you game, as sky will tell you where to shove it when you come to ask for help ... tbh its enough to put me off sky completely. I dont care if its sky or BT throttling my connection - I should be allowed to leave my contract due to the issue.

      Yeah i got the same thing everytime i go in instances its well annoying (on wow)
      i get dc 20 mins or so screen is mostly red with latency over 2000 its reall frustraiting i will not be with sky again..

    11. #10
      SpiderJ's Avatar
      SpiderJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Finchley N3
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another World of Warcraft question

      I appear to be having the same problems (with WoW and with World in Conflict) - but I'm on MAX.

      My stats are as follows:

      System Up Time 03:24:49

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 214541 235865 0 11960 19447 02:40:41
      LAN 10M/100M 239292 229617 0 15736 10081 03:24:46
      WLAN 11M/54M 11022 0 0 196 0 03:24:39

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12385 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 15.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 15.0 db

      It's getting really annoying. Been working fine for months - but the last few weeks just keeps crapping out every 30 mins or so - no matter what settings I change on my router (turned off UPnP).

      Any help would be much appreciated.

      thanks

      S

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION