Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Quick ping question

    This is a discussion on Quick ping question within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello all, new member, great forum etc . Just in the process of moving house and BT are coming tomorrow ...

    1. #1
      DGAF's Avatar
      DGAF is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quick ping question

      Hello all, new member, great forum etc . Just in the process of moving house and BT are coming tomorrow to install a phone line, then i have to give Sky a call to arrange my Max Broadband package.

      Anyway, i've been searching through these forums reading tons of incredibly interesting and useful information that i'll probably never need to know, but there is something that i've been wondering.

      I'm really into online gaming, mostly CoD, so i really wanted a good connection. But i realised that, even with the Sky Max package people are still getting high pings- 100m/s and that to get these pings reduced you have to contact Sky and tell them you want your Max Delays reduced to 8(?). And that when they complete this it seems that people average a ping of around 30m/s (from reading several topics on this forum).

      Ok, well i was with Virgin Media at my old address, and my ping was generally around 10m/s>>>



      So to me, even 30m/s still seems pretty high, right?

      So would it not be possible to get the Max Delays reduced even further to create an even better ping? As when i do get the Sky Max package my Upload and Download speed should be even better than what i was recieving from Virgin. Or is there any one out there on a Sky package that recieves a ping around ths 10m/s mark?

      Thanks for your time.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Sky will not reduce past 8. Even when I was on fastpath with another ISP my pings were around 22ms so no real difference.

      If you end up pinging around the 30ms mark you will not have any problems, it will make no difference to your gameplay. A good stable ping is much bertter than a low one.

    4. #3
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Sky will not reduce past 8.
      Some times they will but this depends on the line and not all CST can do this .

    5. #4
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Quote Originally Posted by Steven_Belfast View Post
      Some times they will but this depends on the line and not all CST can do this .
      Sorry it's not supposed to be done. 32/16/8 is what it can be set to.

    6. #5
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      Sorry it's not supposed to be done. 32/16/8 is what it can be set to.

      And as i said its some times can be done using putty ,

    7. #6
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Sorry, it's not sometimes it's never lower than 8. I have set it lower in putty does not make a massive change , but set it back

    8. #7
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      I have set it lower in putty does not make a massive change , but set it back
      This does not mean that others done put it lower than 8,
      I know where you are coming from and under stand that it does not make that much of a change but it has been done .

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Yeah people have done it, but its not a massive change, very much not worth it.

    10. #9
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      Hey i remember one time on virgin my ping was at 2500 for like a week ,
      They just kept saying it was my network card ,
      Forgetting the fact i had 2 wired networks in my pc 1 wireless and over all had 2 pc`s 3 laptops ,

      It was not until i let rip and inform them when doing a tracert was fine until hop 4 ,
      Then they said ok we need to send some one out ,

      Ok i said when ----- i was infromed 5 weeks !
      But 3 hours later it was fine back to 40

    11. #10
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Quick ping question

      lol sounds like they where messing you around steve


      i play cod4 with a ping of about 30-40 at home, and i can still seem to play top of my game with no dissadvantages so i think you'll be fine tbh! but if you like seeing them low numbers i cant help you there as im yet to be with sky

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION