Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

    This is a discussion on Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays? within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Tried to get my max delays reduced but the guy from CST said that he can't do it himself ...

    1. #1
      Jezzer256's Avatar
      Jezzer256 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Findon, Worthing
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      Hi

      Tried to get my max delays reduced but the guy from CST said that he can't do it himself because we're on a BT line.

      Is there anything I can do? 120 ping is atrocious.

      He said something about BT running a 10 day test thing on the connection and after that the max delays cannot be changed. Looks like I'm a bit screwed. Please help!

      Jez


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      On connect nothing can be done with delays. So it's either stick with sky, or move. Sorry

    4. #3
      Jezzer256's Avatar
      Jezzer256 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Findon, Worthing
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      Really?

      Why is the ping so high? Surely I'm not the only one who doesn't like this problem.

      Can BT not change the max delays themselves?

      The problem is quite clearly solvable.

      Jez

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      the ONLY thing that can be done is to put the line on Fastpath - but even if Sky request it BT don't always do it...tends to only be on short lines already syncing at 8Mbps with a good SNR...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Jezzer256's Avatar
      Jezzer256 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Findon, Worthing
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      the ONLY thing that can be done is to put the line on Fastpath - but even if Sky request it BT don't always do it...tends to only be on short lines already syncing at 8Mbps with a good SNR...
      Sorry I'm not really a tech-head. How do I know if the line is synching at 8mbps, and whether it has good SNR?

      How do I go about getting my line on Fastpath?

      As you can tell I want this problem solved!!

      Jez

    7. #6
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      ^^ Give sky a sky, and hopefully you get through to someone who understands about fastpath and gaming, they should then pop you through to CST, and they may get you put on fastpath. AS IANTE says BT sometimes don't do it

    8. #7
      Jezzer256's Avatar
      Jezzer256 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Findon, Worthing
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      Hmm, OK I'll give them another ring. I've already got a reference number thing so I should be able to get through to CST without any fuss.

      My line speed is reported as 8128kbps in the router status. This means it's synching at 8mbps right?

      Don't know what STR is. Oh well, it's worth a try....

      Jez

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      If your connecting at 8128kbps then yes 8meg, but you may not be downloading at this speed.
      Last edited by googleme; 04-11-08 at 10:40 AM.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      if you click on the 'show statistics' link at the bottom of the router status page (which shows your sync speed) you'll see figures for attenuation and noise margin - the downstream noise margin is the important one so if you can find out then we can tell you for definite...

      also, bare in mind, you'd have exactly the same issue on any BTW product from any ISP - so unless you can get on Fastpath (or another ISP has LLU'd your exchange) you'll be stuck as you are...

      something else to have a look at in the meantime - how are you setup? are you wireless? are you running your router from your master socket or an extention?

      EDIT: if THIS is your exchange, getting on Fastpath is the ONLY way to get pings lower (unless your setup is wrong and that's the issue, of course)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Jezzer256's Avatar
      Jezzer256 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Findon, Worthing
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connect + Reducing Max Delays?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      if you click on the 'show statistics' link at the bottom of the router status page (which shows your sync speed) you'll see figures for attenuation and noise margin - the downstream noise margin is the important one so if you can find out then we can tell you for definite...

      also, bare in mind, you'd have exactly the same issue on any BTW product from any ISP - so unless you can get on Fastpath (or another ISP has LLU'd your exchange) you'll be stuck as you are...

      something else to have a look at in the meantime - how are you setup? are you wireless? are you running your router from your master socket or an extention?

      EDIT: if THIS is your exchange, getting on Fastpath is the ONLY way to get pings lower (unless your setup is wrong and that's the issue, of course)
      Line stats:

      Connection Speed - 8128 kbps
      Line Attenuation - 22.0 db
      Noise Margin - 8.1 db

      The odd thing is, had AOL broadband and the ping was brilliant. It was a similar 8mbps package. I'm running wired from the same phone socket that AOL ran from.

      This suggests something is setup wrong on my part, especially if neither Sky nor AOL have LLU'ed my exchange. This does look like my exchange, but I never knew I could get ADSL max, or Cable broadband. If it says I can get cable, why have Sky put me on Broadband Connect??

      Anyway, is that line attenuation good enough to go fastpath?

      Jez
      Last edited by Jezzer256; 04-11-08 at 05:56 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION