Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

    This is a discussion on Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :( within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I think there is something strange going on. The first stats posted (post#1) were better than the Test socket which ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      I think there is something strange going on. The first stats posted (post#1) were better than the Test socket which does not seem possible. I wonder if someone is working on the line or close to it and causing fluctuations. You will have a better idea than I about this Brian.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      Possible, it's just that whenever this sort of result comes up it's often wireing, and it's hard to sort the prob at a distance!

    4. #13
      1have2much3time's Avatar
      1have2much3time is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Fallowfield, Manchester
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      I appreciate it's touch to help sort a problem when you can't actually see what's going on. I've "thanks'd" everyone's answers and i will have to come back to this tomorrow, hopefully with some pics.

      Cheers for everything so far.

    5. #14
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Not sure that would be my first step. Sky will just do basic troubleshooting e.g. test socket, filters etc. All that info (and more) is in the cabling and faceplate help forum and saves the hassle of a call to Sky.
      True mate, and I'm usually the biggest advocate of ensuring internal wiring is in order. Excuse - I was at work with one eye over the shoulder for boss


    6. #15
      Homerclease's Avatar
      Homerclease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01635
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      You think that's bad?

      Im paying for max broadband and this is the connection im getting right now:


      So xbox live is basically unplayable for me right now too.

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      ^^^

      Have you tried rebooting the router?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      Homerclease's Avatar
      Homerclease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01635
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      ^^^

      Have you tried rebooting the router?
      Several times.

    9. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #19
      Homerclease's Avatar
      Homerclease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01635
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      If i was to use my test socket it would mean i have to take my computer downstairs, and since it took 2 people to get it up the stairs, its kind of a pain.

      Here are my stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6368 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 11 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 7 db



      I could try a different speed tester, but i know for sure my connection is slow, playing xbox live is like playing on dial up, and its impossible for me to upload or download anything.

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just had Sky Max, not a happy gamer :(

      You have better stats than I do ish for the router.

      I can get nearly 7mb with an attenuation of 46

      If you could get the stats from the master socket, that would rule out the internal wiring if that's at fault.

      You could ring Sky as even so, the upload should be an awful lot higher.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION