Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

    This is a discussion on PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm trying to set up my Mac as a media server using MediaLink but my PS3 is reporting UPnP is ...

    1. #1
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      I'm trying to set up my Mac as a media server using MediaLink but my PS3 is reporting UPnP is not available.

      Is there an issue with UPnP via a wireless connection on the V2 routers? - It kind of works via Ethernet (homeplug). Wireless gaming, internet etc work fine.

      I'm not sure what to try any suggestions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      Anyone?

    4. #3
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      Unfortunately I don't know a thing about MAC's, however, the PS3 requires quite a few ports to be opened and I'm not sure that UPnP does the job correctly. This may explain why it reports UPnP as unavailable (this also happens with the V1 router), you may be better of either port forwarding or putting the PS3 in the routers DMZ to see if this works better.
      Personally, I went down the DMZ route as it was quicker and easier, and I now have no problems using my PS3 as a media server (although this is not with a MAC), so I imagine the principles will be pretty much the same.

    5. #4
      tanveer's Avatar
      tanveer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      luton
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      i had the same prob with v1 all u have to do is add it to 'lan ip setup when your ps3 trys to connect to it. The End! and make sure your 'upnp' is turned on some how...oh yh also go to router page and then lan ip setup then add and then youwill see some ip and add it
      Last edited by tanveer; 13-08-08 at 08:50 PM.
      how could you kill that has'NO' life?

    6. #5
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      @ Lager Lout - I'm not too familiar with setting up DMZ - is this quite straightforward? Also, I don't suppose you know the ports used by the PS3?

      @ Tanveer, ok thanks I'll try that, but am not sure how it would help? I'll give it a go though - no harm in trying I suppose.

      - OK I've tried the LAN IP Setup - it doesn't seem to work.
      Last edited by balloon; 13-08-08 at 10:34 PM.

    7. #6
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      If the V2 works the same as V1 router just log onto router and click Wan setup on the left.
      Tick box for Defaualt DMZ server and enter 192.168.0.100 in box.
      Click apply.

      Now on PS3 choose settings> network settings> internet connection settings> custom> wireless> Wlan settings> Scan.
      Choose your SSID and press X> Select WPA - PSK> enter your key.
      IP Address settings, choose manual> enter these numbers;
      IP address 192.168.0.100
      Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
      Default router 192.168.0.1
      Primary DNS 192.168.0.1
      Secondary DNS 0.0.0.0

      MTU - Automatic> Proxy server - Do Not Use> UPnP - Disable
      Press X to save settings and test connection.

      It should now say;
      Obtain IP address........succeeded.
      Internet connection.....succeeded.
      Playstation Network.....succeeded.
      UPnP.........................disabled.
      Nat type....................Type 2.

      Switch PS3 off, reboot computer and turn PS3 back on and sign in. It may take a few minutes for your media server to be detected but if it still doesn't work then it will be your pc media sharing that will need configuring.

      Hope this helps you.
      Last edited by x LAGER LOUT x; 13-08-08 at 11:13 PM. Reason: Spelling.

    8. #7
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      Thanks Lager Lout for all your help. Just tried all the above and it doesn't seem to want to work. I guess it's a bug in the router. I've also just tried the homeplug from the computer in the study and it works great with that - so I guess I'll just have to get another for the PS3. Interestingly, it did open port 3658 (UDP) via the Ethernet connection, but when I entered this in manually for Wireless it didn't work.

    9. #8
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      It may just be that the wireless signal isn't strong enough, the PS3 isn't the best when it comes to wireless I'm afraid.

    10. #9
      balloon's Avatar
      balloon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      Not too bad on the wireless side of things to be honest - I do believe it's something to do with these darn routers they lumber us with!

    11. #10
      mrplow's Avatar
      mrplow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: peterlee
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 UPnP & Netgear DG934G router

      My son's PS3 connects to my old white v1 router set with WPA, but not the netgear black v2 one. Accoridng to some other forums, the v2 later firmware use mixed AES/TKIP mode for WPA, which the PS3 can't handle Bug report: DG834G firmware 4.1.27 - NETGEAR Forums
      As a temporary fix, I've disabled security and turned wireless access control on instead, but I will probably get some powerline adapters.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION