Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Thinkin of moving to sky

    This is a discussion on Thinkin of moving to sky within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there all. Iam thinking of moving to Sky very soon as my contract with Bt is nearly over. Atm ...

    1. #1
      JeDuK's Avatar
      JeDuK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thinkin of moving to sky

      Hi there all.

      Iam thinking of moving to Sky very soon as my contract with Bt is nearly over. Atm my line stats are--

      DSL Connection

      Link Information


      Uptime: 0 days, 3:08:04

      Modulation: G.992.1 annex A

      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 4,256

      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 12.46 / 38.02

      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0

      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.0 / 49.0

      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 23.0 / 12.0

      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC

      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Link (Remote): 0

      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 13,000

      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 33

      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 29

      Line Profile: Interleaved



      I use my connection mainly for gaming cod4/hl2dm/bf2/ccs ect, would i see any difference between the mid or max product from sky.
      ive ran the asdl2 test, and for my line it says i could get between 6-7 mb, but would the max able me to have higher upload even though my download would still max out at 6-7mb.?
      Also i need to move my router, iam i better using a short modem cable and a long ethernet cable, or a long modem cable and short ethernet, or doesnt it matter that much??

      Thanks in advanced JeDuK


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      DONT!

      stay with bt mate

    4. #3
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by samperry209 View Post
      DONT!

      stay with bt mate
      Oh do shutup. If your going to make a comment like that at least back it up.

      ***

      With a Line ATT of 49 you should be looking to get about 7.5 meg.
      Also i need to move my router, iam i better using a short modem cable and a long ethernet cable,
      Thats right

    5. #4
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      u shut up

    6. #5
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      If you are going to move to Sky you could probably opt to get the Mid package. It would be cost effective as you would only get a max of 7.5 meg out of your connection so paying for a 16 meg connection and only getting half of it would seem a waste.

      Unless you like the upload speed of max (764/784) then i would opt for Mid.
      Last edited by Monday; 12-07-08 at 02:15 PM.

    7. #6
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      Make you right Monday at least explain the reasoning behind any comments you make, after all this is what people join this forum for, constructive advice

    8. #7
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      If you take the max package you will have an upload speed of 768kbps, although sky have been tweaking a lot of lines lately resulting in an increased upload speed of 796kbps.
      You will find your pings are higher with Sky, however, if you get CST to lower your Max Delays you should see a definate improvement. As a rough guide, after having my Max Delays reduced, I can now ping bbc.co.uk and jolt.co.uk from the command prompt and achieve pings of 23ms.

    9. #8
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      If you take the max package you will have an upload speed of 768kbps, although sky have been tweaking a lot of lines lately resulting in an increased upload speed of 796kbps.
      Just for the Ops info if you join Sky you shouldn't be on DLM testing anytime yet.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      I use my connection mainly for gaming cod4/hl2dm/bf2/ccs ect, would i see any difference between the mid or max product from sky.
      The only difference you would see is a higher upload speed, an unofficial cap of 250gb against 40gb (Which is irrelevant anyway as Sky do not presently enforce these) and a fiver a month more for the Max.

      ive ran the asdl2 test, and for my line it says i could get between 6-7 mb, but would the max able me to have higher upload even though my download would still max out at 6-7mb.?
      You have fairly similar stats to myself, I get between 6.5mb and 7.2mb

      Also i need to move my router, iam i better using a short modem cable and a long ethernet cable, or a long modem cable and short ethernet, or doesnt it matter that much??
      I would go with the long ethernet cable.

      Also, as Stella (sorry Lager Lout) pointed out, get Sky to lower your Max_Delays and your ping will go down.

      You will see many people post on here about their issues with Sky, some people do genuinely have issues with their broadband. However an awful lot of us don't and have been with Sky for a very long time, so we know when you don't have issues the product is great.

      The only things I could say from a negative point of view;

      1) Sky are not the best communicators

      2) Sky sometimes bury their heads and don't tell anyone about supposed network improvements

      3) Some CST agents don't get told the full picture and so may be on a different wavelength through no fault of their own. Which can lead to frustrations when a customer has issues.

      On a positive side:

      1) Cheap as chips

      2) Solid as a rock

      3) Great for gaming

      4) A helpful userbase on here




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      JeDuK's Avatar
      JeDuK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Thinkin of moving to sky

      thx for all the replies, will the upload on the max be effected by my distance from exchange i.e, as i cant get 16mb D/load, will i get a reduced upload?
      and do i have to ask sky to lower Max_delays when i order, or wait till it up and running, then contact them if i have issues?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION