Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

    This is a discussion on PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have the PS3 upstairs, router downstairs by PC. PC does not have wireless, does not make a difference as ...

    1. #1
      Westhamlee's Avatar
      Westhamlee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

      I have the PS3 upstairs, router downstairs by PC. PC does not have wireless, does not make a difference as the PS 3 should be ok. It picks it up using the scan, then when checking the IP address it fails (can't find IP address), tried with the settings using WPA & WSK still not working. Could it be to do with Firewall settings on the inbound as it says it is blocked when looking at security howver there is no radio button so I can't delete it.

      I am really at my wits end, can anyone help please:


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

      Should work on WPA, make sure you are entering the network key as per the card, all capital letters, no numbers, no lower case. Also try dropping the router onto a new channel as it may also be wireless signal strength. (192.168.0.1, user name admin, password sky, click on the link called setup in top left corner of RSP)

    4. #3
      Westhamlee's Avatar
      Westhamlee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

      Thanks for that but Im getting an DNS error

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

      Can you actually access 192.168.0.1 wirelessly? What DNS error are you getting?

    6. #5
      Stephenson1966's Avatar
      Stephenson1966 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01924
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

      Westhamlee, I had the exact same problem as you but have now sorted it by simply moving the Sagem wireless router into the same room as the PS3 !

      They used to be about 5-6 metres apart, seperated by a standard blockwork internal wall and the wireless signal was obviously too weak to penetrate the wall properly. I found it strange as, the same as you, it picked up the router on the 'scan' but no matter what I did, it wouldn't actually connect. I'd tried changing all sorts of settings both on the PS3 & the Sagem but to no avail.

      My conclusion is therefore that the Sagem wireless router as supplied by Sky is in fact CRAP as far as the wireless capability is concerned !!!

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: PS3 Can't Connect to Sagem

      If you are into your games then wireless is a bad way of doing it, a wire or a couple of homeplugs will make a surprising difference.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION