Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 37

    Bad Ping On Sky!

    This is a discussion on Bad Ping On Sky! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hate to point it out, but join any forum that has been designed as a support forum, like here, and ...

    1. #11
      Kbramman's Avatar
      Kbramman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dulwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      Hate to point it out, but join any forum that has been designed as a support forum, like here, and the main thing you will get is people complaining.

      Normal rule of thumb is bad experience = tell 10 people, good = tell 1

      There are tons of posts where people have had their max delays lowered to improve pings, of course Sky aren't going to focus on that when they are rolling their BB out, the whole idea is to get people to sign up to cheap BB.

      Yes CS could do with some extra training, but you could say that about anything, anywhere about everyone!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      Quote Originally Posted by Kbramman View Post
      There are tons of posts where people have had their max delays lowered to improve pings, of course Sky aren't going to focus on that when they are rolling their BB out, the whole idea is to get people to sign up to cheap BB.

      Yes CS could do with some extra training, but you could say that about anything, anywhere about everyone!
      Pings are very easy to change, you just need to get passed the 1st stage of TS

    4. #13
      Arsenal4Ever's Avatar
      Arsenal4Ever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upper Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      Pings are very easy to change, you just need to get passed the 1st stage of TS
      Tried that a billion times, they still dont put me through.



      That's my speed test - lol at ping!!.

      Can't even get Sky Max as im not close to 8 megs on a mid package. Oh well... Virgin 2nd June here i come.

    5. #14
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      Just drop them an email its really not that hard. But if your moving to Virgin in a couple of days then i wouldn't bother.
      Last edited by Monday; 30-05-08 at 09:20 PM.

    6. #15
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      For those of you struggling on the phone try the kana form, good reports have come back from people who have tried it this way.
      Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Contact Us>Feedback - Broadband Kana


    7. #16
      Arsenal4Ever's Avatar
      Arsenal4Ever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upper Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      ill try it just to see if it changes before monday

    8. #17
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      Quote Originally Posted by HELGHAST View Post
      at this time my line is

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5120 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 22.6 db 13.0 db
      My att is also 24 and I get the full whack, your nm is very high which I would guess is the root of your problem.


    9. #18
      HELGHAST's Avatar
      HELGHAST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      79
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      here's my speeds now i changed over to B* broadband.
      note on sky this morn at around 6am when i finshed work i was on sky still with
      4meg
      356kbp
      147ping

      this is my new speedtest results with B*


      why its shows like that i dont know. but when i watched it. it went to
      12meg
      980kbps
      37 ping

      so a MASSIVE improvement every were.

    10. #19
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      If you are happy with that then leave it BE
      Like I intimated in my earlier post, something is not right, with an att of 24 you should have been syncing around 16meg on sky and over 20 with BE.
      Whats the router stats with the BE router, just out of interest ?


    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Bad Ping On Sky!

      was gonna say, those could've been achieved with Sky tbh but obviously you didn't want to wait to speak to someone who could deal with it...

      so long as you're happy though...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION