Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    pings higher after FW upgrade?

    This is a discussion on pings higher after FW upgrade? within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; is it me or everyone got higher pings after firmware upgrade? , also i get timed out from UK servers ...

    1. #1
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      pings higher after FW upgrade?

      is it me or everyone got higher pings after firmware upgrade? , also i get timed out from UK servers sometimes... never happend before
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      From my experiences the new firmware means that the router will "work" at a lot lower noise margins, ie you'll still get data and web pages will work etc.

      But the lower noise margin still means that there is a large amount of noise on the line and although things will work web browsing can slow to a crawl and in World of Warcraft lag spikes start happening due to data having to be resent.

      I don't know if this is the case with you but I tend to reboot the router still around 11pm if things start getting slow to give myself a synch speed that has a noise margin at 7db and although slower is a lot more tolerant of noise.

      Why can't Sky just implement automatic noise adaption is beyond me, this is the sort of thing that ticks people off and in the end drives them away to other providers.

      Anyway try that and see if that helps.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      is it possible to get old fireware back because i cant play with this laggs... used to get 20-30 ping now its 45-50
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    5. #4
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      The new FW should have NO affect on the pings what so every AFAIK try pinging at off peak times.

    6. #5
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      what happend than , i didn't change or do anything , pings were ok before that update now they are bad , maybe max delays was auto changed to higher?
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      if you have the V1 router, post your detailed stats

    8. #7
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      Uptime 76389.83 71934.45
      Wan up 60.19 52.19
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7168 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.4
      Max(Kbps): 9088 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 7168 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 225(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 225 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0707 8.6153
      L: 1808 208
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 4491669 4491742
      SFErr: 477 6
      RS: 305433522 38179807
      RSCorr: 177421 159
      RSUnCorr: 8314 0

      HEC: 430 5
      OCD: 4 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1290880499 0
      Data Cells: 22943393 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 279 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 0
      AS: 76361

      INP: 1.13 1.23
      PER: 1.87 1.88
      delay: 8.56 8.61
      OR: 29.88 29.71

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 21 hours 13 min 9 sec
      SF = 4491669
      CRC = 477
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 279
      Latest 1 day time = 21 hours 13 min 9 sec
      SF = 4491669
      CRC = 477
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 279
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 9 sec
      SF = 46374
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    9. #8
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      Well alex you seem to have a high CRC error build up on your line, given the amount of time the router has been connected i'd say its ok. But give the router a restart and try your ping then.

    10. #9
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      ye i called them and asked if my max delays set to 8 and they said they set to 32 so i asked to set to 8, they done that and than they said i can only get 5mbps max speed , but i told her how the hell did i get 7168 she said our mistake or something , so i asked her to set it back to 7168 and she did so now the stats are:

      Uptime 2510.82 2291.19
      Wan up 2323.03 2120.39
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 672 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7072 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.9
      Max(Kbps): 8224 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 7072 672
      G.dmt framing
      K: 222(0) 22
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 63 22
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2500 8.6956
      L: 512 184
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 12861 12801
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 874578 108808
      RSCorr: 123 2
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3647264 0
      Data Cells: 164900 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 4 0
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 104 0
      AS: 219

      INP: 8.00 2.78
      PER: 1.96 1.90
      delay: 36.00 17.39
      OR: 28.44 29.44

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 41 min 50 sec
      SF = 138226
      CRC = 1781
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 36
      ES = 4
      Latest 1 day time = 41 min 50 sec
      SF = 138226
      CRC = 1781
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 36
      ES = 4
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 50 sec
      SF = 35926
      CRC = 1336
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 27
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49377
      CRC = 445
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 9
      ES = 1
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: 1
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    11. #10
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: pings higher after FW upgrade?

      You have a really high CRC error build up now alex over a course of 41 minutes you have 1,781 errors. Thats not good i think CST might have been right about 5MB give it a try it might reduce the CRC errors.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION