Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Disconnecting in WoW

    This is a discussion on Disconnecting in WoW within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; i currently have sky broadband, and it has been pretty seemless for some months. recently though, i disconnect incredibly often ...

    1. #1
      Krypt's Avatar
      Krypt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Disconnecting in WoW

      i currently have sky broadband, and it has been pretty seemless for some months. recently though, i disconnect incredibly often in WoW and have to power off/on the router, wait for it to connect, then relog. I am useing a wireless connection on a PC with vista. but i dont think thats the problem as this has only started happening recently.

      I've upgraded the drivers for my network card, to no success.
      Ive tried to upgrade the firmware for my sky modem, but that doesnt work

      i cant go on without my daily wow fix, please help


      EDIT: adding various things;
      -my MS is usually around 70-90 when i can connect, so theres no lag as such( i live in scotland, we use old tech
      -i havent patched the game recently
      -the problem seems to occur on all servers and all characters
      -download speed is normal
      -web browsing seems ok aswell


      Full stats.
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3808 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 49.0 30.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.3 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 4352 1088
      Rate (Kbps): 3808 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 120(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 120 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1322 8.6153
      L: 968 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 166965 166963
      SFErr: 55 66
      RS: 11353630 1419185
      RSCorr: 57482 152
      RSUnCorr: 1113 0

      HEC: 46 40
      OCD: 3 2
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 25490756 0
      Data Cells: 332873 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 137 0
      SES: 122 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 47 min 50 sec
      SF = 166965
      CRC = 55
      LOS = 153
      LOF = 0
      ES = 137
      Latest 1 day time = 47 min 50 sec
      SF = 166965
      CRC = 55
      LOS = 153
      LOF = 0
      ES = 137
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 50 sec
      SF = 9998
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 19
      LOS = 43
      LOF = 0
      ES = 36
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51047
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 48
      LOF = 0
      ES = 41
      Last edited by Krypt; 17-03-08 at 09:31 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      Hi ,

      wireless is not good at the best of times and wired will always give better results
      saying that, your router stats show a fair amount of errors (CRC / LOS / ES), these would lead me to belive you may have a internal wiring problem (have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum, there are quite a few who get this problem, there are also tips on how to improve your internal wirirng)

      by far the quickest way to check is by doing a set of camparison stats from your TEST socket (see first link in my sig)
      post back some stats after a few hours and we can go from there

    4. #3
      Krypt's Avatar
      Krypt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      on it, also heres this:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.4 db 13.0 db

      enjoy.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      Noise Margin 5.4 db 13.0 db
      i would guess you see this figure float around a bit, the V1 routers do not as yet cope well with this fluctuation (anything under 6db will be a problem)
      let us know how the test socket stats go

    6. #5
      Krypt's Avatar
      Krypt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3776 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 14.0 db

      hm, thats bad.

      i dont see how this sort of thing ( bad wiring, possibly) just occurs for no reason, will post the test socket when the phones not busy ie, 1am

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      i think its more to do with the type of wire used (not sure on the tech term), i used to use an extention and had a power cut/surge which blew a few fuses. after i got a new replacement router (power surge killed the first) i used the same set up and could mostly not connect at all (i now use the test socket)
      mine was an extreme case, but the over time it happens anyway, you just may not notice until it impacts on your connection

    8. #7
      Krypt's Avatar
      Krypt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      as a temporary solution ive connected it up useing an ethernet connection, my routers lieing in the middle of the floor now but the connection seems stable.

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      my routers lieing in the middle of the floor
      is that instead of a bear rug

    10. #9
      Krypt's Avatar
      Krypt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      if it does work in the test socket can i leave my modem there? will the phone still work?

    11. #10
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnecting in WoW

      Quote Originally Posted by Krypt View Post
      i live in scotland, we use old tech
      I live in Scotland too, and tech here is far from old
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION