Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 78

    Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

    This is a discussion on Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; This is by far the best guide I have seen. I can't believe it has taken me this long to ...

    1. #61
      Sky_Pessimist's Avatar
      Sky_Pessimist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      This is by far the best guide I have seen. I can't believe it has taken me this long to find it. I'm not computer savvy so when following the Xbox guide equivalent to this I did it wrong! Thanks a lot, this is very appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by Sky_Pessimist View Post
      This is by far the best guide I have seen. I can't believe it has taken me this long to find it. I'm not computer savvy so when following the Xbox guide equivalent to this I did it wrong! Thanks a lot, this is very appreciated.
      your welcome.

      as i said in a previous post i am glad that people are still finding it useful

    4. #63
      grantk1234's Avatar
      grantk1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Hi will this work with my sagem router thanks

    5. #64
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      No reason why it shouldn't, some of the locations in the router menu are different, but the basic idea is the same.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #65
      mazzy81's Avatar
      mazzy81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      hi will this help with my prob,i use my laptop to connect to xboxlive,but everytime i plug the USB cable in to laptop it cuts the internet?

      thanks for any help on this matter as got MW3 and REALLY need to play online.

    7. #66
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,895
      Thanks
      810
      Thanked 2,194 Times in 2,064 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Ideally you should connect your Xbox direct to the Sky router or to some other wired connection, using the Xbox's Ethernet port.

      Take a look at this thread: Extending your Home Network

      I'm not quite sure how you intend to connect the Xbox to the Internet via your Laptop, whilst using the USB port. Normally you would connect the Laptop to the Sky router using the WiFi connection & share that via the Ethernet port or vice versa.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #67
      mazzy81's Avatar
      mazzy81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      i connect my xbox to my laptop and share the wireless,but every time i plug in to said laptop from xbox it wont let me use internet or go on live it keeps saying DNS problem?

    9. #68
      lucyinthesky's Avatar
      lucyinthesky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Thanks for the info. That's really useful. just got myself an xbox. gonna see if the same thing applies for this one. should at least be a helpful guide to start with.

    10. #69
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts

      I will at some point modify my original post to accommodate the current Xbox dashboard and also the sagem routers as the netgear V1's are not being used and will alter the title of the thread

    11. #70
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      as the netgear V1's are not being used and will alter the title of the thread
      Who told you that? I am pretty sure there are still many thousands in use. It is the best router Sky have ever supplied

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION