Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 78

    Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

    This is a discussion on Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I think you'll find that the PS3 is indeed a whole new can of worms. It it's online gaming you're ...

    1. #21
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      I think you'll find that the PS3 is indeed a whole new can of worms. It it's online gaming you're after, stick to your 360 mate.
      And yes, you WILL have to buy a different router to get an Open NAT on two xbox's at the same time.
      Make sure you extract the username and password while you can.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Hairy's Avatar
      Hairy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by x LAGER LOUT x View Post
      Make sure you extract the username and password while you can.
      By this you mean the user and pass of my current router?

      I'm going to try the router recommended in the link from your previous post and if that doesn't work I'll have to try an ISP which supports online gaming with Xbox live.

      Thanks again Lager Lout.

    4. #23
      lukinuk's Avatar
      lukinuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      Hi people, I have decided to attempt at writing a guide to set up your DG834GT V1 router with Xbox live to enable you to get an open NAT status.

      Please note that the steps in this guide are how I have set my Xbox 360 and my router up (wired) as like many others I had a problem with UPnP. There are, however, other ways to get an open NAT status but this method has and still is working for me.

      This guide also assumes that you have not changed any of the ip address settings within the console itself and have everything set to automatic.

      1. Get your Xbox 360s mac address.

      a. go to system blade
      b. go to network settings blade
      c. go to edit settings
      d. go to additional settings
      e. go to advanced settings
      f. write down the mac address for your Xbox
      g. leave your Xbox on

      2. The router add XBOX 360 to the reservation table

      a. log into your router http://192.168.0.1 (default setting)
      b. On the left hand side click LAN IP Setup.
      c. Under address reservation click add
      d. Under address reservation table find your Xbox 360s mac address and click the radio button to the left of it. This will automatically enter the information into the boxes below the reservation table.
      e. For the ip address change the last few digits to 101. i.e. 192.168.0.101 (this will be you ip address for your Xbox.
      f. Rename the device name to Xbox 360.
      g. Click add.
      3. the router port forwarding the require ports part 1

      Xbox live requires 3 ports to be open. UDP 88, UDP 3074 & TCP 3074

      a. On the left hand side click services.
      b. Click add custom service.
      c. Under service definition you need to fill the boxes in as follows:
      Name: XBL1
      Type: UDP
      Start Port: 88
      Finish Port: 88

      d. Once complete click apply.
      e. Repeat steps b to d for the other 2 ports that need opening as follows

      Name: XBL2
      Type: UDP
      Start Port: 3074
      Finish Port: 3074

      Name: XBL3
      Type: TCP
      Start Port: 3074
      Finish Port: 3074


      4. The router port forwarding the require ports part 2

      a. On the left hand side click firewall rules.
      b. Under inbound services click add.
      c. Click the drop down box at the top for service and select XBL1
      d. Enter your Xboxs IP address in the boxes for send to lan server 192.168.0.101
      e. Click apply
      f. Repeat steps b to e for XBL2 and XBL3

      Pat your self on the back, your Xbox Live ports are now configured, grab you Xbox controller for the next part

      5. The Xbox

      a. Reboot your Xbox.
      b. go to system blade
      c. go to network settings
      d. Go to test Xbox live connection.
      e. This should now have passed all the tests and reported that you have an OPEN NAT status.

      Job Done

      p.s please feel free to leave me any comments regarding this little guide.

      if people would like me to add screen shots for any and/or all of the stages please let me know.

      regards,

      andrewjr

      Gamertag: Andrew19

      HI
      I have tryed and not working. Could you please add screen shots of your guide. And tell my what cable I need to use, and is it should be conected betwen xbox and router or xbox and laptop.
      Thanks for help

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by lukinuk View Post
      HI
      I have tryed and not working. Could you please add screen shots of your guide. And tell my what cable I need to use, and is it should be conected betwen xbox and router or xbox and laptop.
      Thanks for help
      Connect the Xbox direct to the Router, not the PC.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #25
      lukinuk's Avatar
      lukinuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Connect the Xbox direct to the Router, not the PC.
      Just to others unexp. to get connection you need an Xbox network cable, not any but specific Xbox one.
      Now connected.
      Thanks you all

    7. #26
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      You don't need an "Xbox specific" ethernet cable.

    8. #27
      mutter's Avatar
      mutter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Hi.
      I'm not sure if this thread applies to my situation here .......... being a mum, I can't be expected to understand all this techie stuff!
      But I'll give it a go anyway.

      I have a desktop connected by a cable to the Netgear router.
      Son has an Xbox which is connected by a cable (not a specific Xbox one) to the router.
      Two laptops are connected wirelessly from time to time.

      Over the summer, we've found the internet connection is tempramental, disconnecting for no apparent reason at irregular times and intervals.
      Sometimes it can go for hours without any problems, sometimes it's flashing off and on two or three times an hour.
      It usually resolves itself and comes back on, or I click the Windows connection wizard and that sorts it out - for a while at least.

      It's only since son has been back at school this week that I've noticed the connection doesn't go down at all during the day, but it starts disconnecting in the evening - when he's on the Xbox!

      So - cut to the chase - is this my imagination? Or could the Xbox be causing the problem?
      And if so, should I do the scarily complicated stuff posted above and risk messing everything up altogether.



      All suggestions gratefully received!!

    9. #28
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Hi mutter, don't worry about doing any of the steps outlined above. I would suspect that you are just finding that there is too much info going through your connection at one time.

      It would be a good idea though to rule out any internal wiring issues first.
      This can be done by locating the master BT socket, and if it appears as if the faceplate has a removable (by undoing 2 screws) lower half, removing this which will reveal another telephone socket behind it on the right hand side. This is more commonly known as the test socket.

      Now you want to plug a filter into this test socket, and then plug the router into the filter. You can now have all your pc's and your sons xbox connected to the router as before.

      If you still have the same problems when your son has his xbox on, then your connection is probably too slow for all that info.

      If, however, it all works fine when setup like this then your internal wiring will need attention.

      Give it a try and post back to let us know how you get on, and if need be we can advise you further.

      Hope this helps.

    10. #29
      GARY-MITCHELL3's Avatar
      GARY-MITCHELL3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Andrew,

      Have the black grey Netgear Router with Netgear Adaptor. Sky broadband mid is working well but now my son wants to connect his XBOX to the PC/router also.

      Can you advise what differences to your excellent guide apply??

      Any help would be appreciate and it may indeed stop me murdering my son. Joking of course!!!!!!

      Thanks in anticipation

      Mitch

    11. #30
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up Xbox 360 and Netgear V1 router for Xbox Live

      Hi Gary,
      If you are going to connect for the first time then don't change any settings. It should work correctly straight out of the box so to speak.
      Just get him to Test Xbox Live connection by selecting system blade of the dashboard,then Network settings, then Test Xbox live connection and if the NAT status is reported as OPEN then nothing will need changing.

     

     
    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION