Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

    This is a discussion on Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3 within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; ive searched around and couldn't find anything so i thought i ask here, i cannot connect to any of my ...

    1. #1
      dale_29's Avatar
      dale_29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      ive searched around and couldn't find anything so i thought i ask here, i cannot connect to any of my friends it just comes up with a screen sayin 'Unable to connect' and then takes me back to the screen where you choose Single player or Multiplayer. Has anyone else had this problem? Is it my ps3 or is it summin to do with Sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      It's a problem with the whole PS3 network, it affects people in all countries, regardless who their ISP is unfortunately.

    4. #3
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      I play COD4 all the time on PS3 with no probs however trying to connect with friends is a bit hit or miss. Often you get invite but by time you accept server is full and you get kicked out and have to find a new game. IW have another patch on the way which will hopefully fix this.
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

    5. #4
      dale_29's Avatar
      dale_29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      hmm.. its just a bit weird that all of them can connect to each other without any problems and yet i can't connect to any of them
      anyway any confirmed date for this patch then?

    6. #5
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      You might want to try port forwarding or using DMZ then.

    7. #6
      dale_29's Avatar
      dale_29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      Actually i now know why i couldn't connect to anyone and i felt i right dumbo after it ... i didnt install the update that appear when i put the cod4 disc in thinking it would downgrade my ps3 firmware instead of updating the game
      ... they dont make it clear that its for the game and not the firmware though.

    8. #7
      vRS's Avatar
      vRS
      vRS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      I play COD 4 on the PS3 quite alot, and can connect to some of my firends all of the time. However there are some PSN's that i just cant connect to at all, and they cannot connect to me.
      I think this might be something to do with Port forwarding and DMZ as x LAGER LOUT x mentioned.
      Can anyone tell me how to go about doing this? Do i need to setup a static ip addess for the PS3? Also what ports is it that i need to open?

      Can anyone help?

    9. #8
      tayla96's Avatar
      tayla96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting to friends on COD4/ps3

      Quote Originally Posted by vRS View Post
      I play COD 4 on the PS3 quite alot, and can connect to some of my firends all of the time. However there are some PSN's that i just cant connect to at all, and they cannot connect to me.
      I think this might be something to do with Port forwarding and DMZ as x LAGER LOUT x mentioned.
      Can anyone tell me how to go about doing this? Do i need to setup a static ip addess for the PS3? Also what ports is it that i need to open?

      Can anyone help?
      ive got the same problem did you manage to sort it out and if so how?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION