Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

    This is a discussion on can i check my max delay without phoning sky? within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; they said they would change mymax delay but im not sure if they have as my pings are the same,i ...

    1. #1
      flatline's Avatar
      flatline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      they said they would change mymax delay but im not sure if they have as my pings are the same,i know it doesnt alwayshelp buti want to check before giving them a call.

      ive got a sagem router with firmware 1.55sky but i dont know what model it is

      thx in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      did you speak to them on the phone or did you email ?
      if on the phone and you had been speaking to CST, they would have made some amends as you were on the phone, if by email it could take a few days
      only way i know to check would have been to ping someone like the BBC before you had the change and then ping it again after and you should see some difference

    4. #3
      flatline's Avatar
      flatline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      i spoke to them on the phone but he said he didnt have the software on his pc so he would email someone who does and that it would get changed on saturday.

      my pings to google are the same but to bbc they are 10ms worse.

      thx for the reply

    5. #4
      flatline's Avatar
      flatline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      ive just spoke to sky and a t1 said that my max delay had been lowered to 8 but i then told her its made no difference to my pings/down speed or anything for that matter,she said somebody would phone me back today.

      even tho my pings are high and the problem may never be sorted i have to say that their support is excellent!

    6. #5
      XPUser's Avatar
      XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      what phone number did you ring them on?

    7. #6
      audioslim's Avatar
      audioslim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Failsworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by flatline View Post
      i spoke to them on the phone but he said he didnt have the software on his pc so he would email someone who does and that it would get changed on saturday.

      my pings to google are the same but to bbc they are 10ms worse.

      thx for the reply
      I've noticed that the sagem routers (in particular) dont like a large number of connections OR its upstream saturated.
      I went around in circles for a while until i realised I'ld fiddled with U-torrents settings and was allowing far far too many connections, resulting in the router either becoming very unresponsive or not at all.

      Just something to consider though.

      Slim

    8. #7
      flatline's Avatar
      flatline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      they said they have lowered my max delay to 8 and my pings in game have gone from 100 to 60/70.

      not perfect but i get no lag at all.

      the phone number i used was 08700103503.

      i dont have any ports open,evrything is at defaut.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      ^ where'd you get that number? looks like another one to shut down...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      XPUser's Avatar
      XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by flatline View Post
      they said they have lowered my max delay to 8 and my pings in game have gone from 100 to 60/70.

      not perfect but i get no lag at all.

      the phone number i used was 08700103503.

      i dont have any ports open,evrything is at defaut.
      thanks for that, will give them a ring.

    11. #10
      flatline's Avatar
      flatline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can i check my max delay without phoning sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      ^ where'd you get that number? looks like another one to shut down...
      what do you mean?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION