Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

    This is a discussion on Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, As an avid gamer (created EuroCSS.NET and ran mEm-Gaming.co.uk) i've had to move away from Be* Unlimited due to ...

    1. #1
      Phunky's Avatar
      Phunky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      Hello,

      As an avid gamer (created EuroCSS.NET and ran mEm-Gaming.co.uk) i've had to move away from Be* Unlimited due to terrible pings in the West Yorkshire area for over a month.

      I will be having my Sky account activated in the next 10 days and will be looking at going straight on to FastPath (Interleaving Off) to allow for better pings.

      With Be* my line Auttention was around 27db down allowing me to sync at 19mb so im hoping i should easy get the full 16mb with Sky.

      How can i go about requesting Interleaving off when my connection is enabled? is it a case of ring up customer service and requesting it or do i need to get through to a certain department.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      Sorry to disappoint, you wont get fastpath. You can request having max delays lowered, but I found this to be little help. For gaming, pings aren't great I'm afraid.
      Have a read of the this thread for a bit more info.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/gamin...s-bad-1-a.html

    4. #3
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by x LAGER LOUT x View Post
      Sorry to disappoint, you wont get fastpath. You can request having max delays lowered, but I found this to be little help. For gaming, pings aren't great I'm afraid.
      Have a read of the this thread for a bit more info.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/gamin...s-bad-1-a.html

      That's not entirely true as it happens. Until very recently, policy was that you could not be switched to fastpath but apparently they will now switch you Thanks for helping us hit a million

      I did try this the day of the announcement and I was rejected so I imagine knowledge of this will take a while to filter through to all the tech support team and I will try again some time soon.

      Assuming this information is correct, the best way to be switched would be to wait to be connected and then phone up the techies after/ send a support email.

      However, if good pings are a necessity for you, Sky is probably not the best service provider out there.

    5. #4
      Phunky's Avatar
      Phunky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      Well it cant be worse then the last 6 weeks on Be* with the 300ms ping at all out of office hours.

      I was also under the impression that Sky didnt let you turn off interleaving but when i saw the news post that chrisypea links too i really did give Sky a 2nd thought and ended up taking the plunge.

      Fingers crossed its fine if anything im a little annoyed that i had to pay 30 installation charge as i payed one of them 4 months ago for Sky TV :/ if i had just gone all for sky back then...

    6. #5
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      The press release was badly written.

      Sky DO NOT offer Fastpath, they will only adjust your Max Delay settings, which should be enough.

      The press release does not say 'We will give you fast path' it says' measures are in place to offer you a fast leaving line'

      This means Max delays and nothing more.

    7. #6
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      I find it unlikely that newsreader (owner of this site) would be misinformed?

      Me: "Were they referring to allowing the max delays to be reduced there or are they now putting people on fastpath at their request?"

      Newsreader: "FastPath as well now, if you ask."

    8. #7
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by chrisypea View Post
      I find it unlikely that newsreader (owner of this site) would be misinformed?

      Me: "Were they referring to allowing the max delays to be reduced there or are they now putting people on fastpath at their request?"

      Newsreader: "FastPath as well now, if you ask."
      I find it unlikely that a staff member in Sky Broadband Technical, i.e. ME and everyone in my callcentre, wouldnt get informed of a change like this, but they would post it on a forum before telling anyone in their employ!!!

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      ^ ditto...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      terrorvis's Avatar
      terrorvis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Draytek 2830n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      West Yorks
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      Quote Originally Posted by indefatigable View Post
      I find it unlikely that a staff member in Sky Broadband Technical, i.e. ME and everyone in my callcentre, wouldnt get informed of a change like this, but they would post it on a forum before telling anyone in their employ!!!
      I appreciate that. However you also said else where that the statement was written by a tier 3 team leader in another thread. It is badly written, but are you completely sure that they aren't better informed than you / your team?

      Back to the Original Post... My West Yorkshire Max connection used to ping at the late thirties to jolt and bbc. With my max delays (depth?) reduced to 8 a couple of weeks ago I now get a ping of about 24-28ms to the same destinations. No guarantee yours will do the same though!

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moving to Sky from Be* looking for decent Pings

      id like to know which team leader cause its been kept VERY quiet otherwise...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION