Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Sky Support Useless

    This is a discussion on Sky Support Useless within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Was on 1meg d/load (as i said, not bothered about this, i do get out ). If I ask to ...

    1. #11
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      Was on 1meg d/load (as i said, not bothered about this, i do get out ). If I ask to cap it at 1meg and reduce "max delays" would it make any difference ?

      p.s. sorry for hyjacking the thread KevKev82.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      was about to apologize too!!

      i reckon possibly capping to, say, 2/3MB and delays to 16s or 8s should get you back to what you were on with ur previous isp....always worth a go

      have you posted full router stats at all? see my sig for how to do this and see what happens...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      Nope, havent, but here they are if you can decifer

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2848 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.7 13.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.7 7.4
      Max(Kbps): 3136 864
      Rate (Kbps): 2848 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 90(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 90 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1758 17.0666
      L: 728 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5536697 5536695
      SFErr: 1091 94
      RS: 188247732 23530953
      RSCorr: 112756557 1108
      RSUnCorr: 11225 0

      HEC: 917 30
      OCD: 13 56
      LCD: 0 4
      Total Cells: 632223020 0
      Data Cells: 5181365 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 462 0
      SES: 382 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 days 2 hours 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 5536697
      CRC = 1091
      LOS = 1394
      LOF = 0
      ES = 462
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 456142
      CRC = 21
      LOS = 15
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 15 sec
      SF = 32640
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5080555
      CRC = 1070
      LOS = 1379
      LOF = 0
      ES = 447
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    5. #14
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      i reckon a cap to 2.5MB and delays to 16s should suffice. I assume you're in the master socket already or are u on an extention? this will be adding to the issues if u are. I also assume all sockets in use have filters in to them before anything else...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #15
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      Yep, as i've already said to sky e-mail support. Master socket, Used the filters supplied by Sky (replaced from my previous ISP).

    7. #16
      AndyL's Avatar
      AndyL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balmoral
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      Quote Originally Posted by Focus2000 View Post
      So how come I was getting a perfectly good ping (<30) with my previous ISP. I have not changed the line. The only things that are different are the router Sky provided and Sky supplying the BB.
      They dance about trying not to say the word "interleaved" on here, thats why you got the **** pings. Google it and you can see exactly what is fecking up your gaming.

    8. #17
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      Quote Originally Posted by AndyL View Post
      They dance about trying not to say the word "interleaved" on here, thats why you got the **** pings. Google it and you can see exactly what is fecking up your gaming.
      So, in a nut-shell, leave Sky. Wish id' stayed where is was..... ffs

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      it's common knowledge that Sky don't use Fastpath - but reducing the delays (if you read posts about it) is just the same....get it done and jobs a goodun
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      I hate to be the bearer of bad news but......


      Its seems that Tier 3 have now been told that they cannot adjust the Max Delay settings because....its not an official procedure yet.


      Sorry guys, seems that you'll have to put up with High pings again for a wee while.

      But the good news is that if its already been done, they arent gonna set you back to 32

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Support Useless

      like that is gonna stop tier 3 users doing it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION