Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Pings have been lowered!

    This is a discussion on Pings have been lowered! within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just rang CS, was on phone for 35 mins, but it paid off. Got through to Tier 3 first call ...

    1. #1
      seaninfrared's Avatar
      seaninfrared is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gorseinon, South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Pings have been lowered!

      Just rang CS, was on phone for 35 mins, but it paid off. Got through to Tier 3 first call today (second call ever! *gasp*) and they changed my MAX DELAY from 32 to 8, which is better for gamers... Lowered pings by about 20! I just basically told them not a hardware fault, not a line fault. Told them I was still in cooling time, and that I would leave if they couldn't sort it (Which I would of left) and they put me through to Tier 3 (British Assistant) Which has happy to change settings for me!

      Hope all people have this service and get the right people who understand us gamers! Good Luck!

      Ok pings. (24/05/08)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      rhodesy's Avatar
      rhodesy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings have been lowered!

      im dreading it i need to ring up tommorow to try and get my ping lowered any tips on getting through to tier 3, can you not just shout tier 3 down the phone until they put you through lol, instead of people not knowing what ping or latency is.

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Pings have been lowered!

      You need to persevere and insist to be put thro to t3. Once you get thro they do know what you are talking about and can reduce your pings. Try ringing late at night when they arnt so busy


    5. #4
      seaninfrared's Avatar
      seaninfrared is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gorseinon, South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings have been lowered!

      Quote Originally Posted by rhodesy View Post
      im dreading it i need to ring up tommorow to try and get my ping lowered any tips on getting through to tier 3, can you not just shout tier 3 down the phone until they put you through lol, instead of people not knowing what ping or latency is.
      Be very persistent, and then just get to the point all the time, threaten to leave, and tell them you know it's not line fault, not hardware fault and not anything but the local exchange which Tier 3 can control. Be VERY strict!

      Ok pings. (24/05/08)

    6. #5
      chelseanc30's Avatar
      chelseanc30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings have been lowered!

      hi, is ther a down side to having the max delay reduced from 32 - 8?
      cheers

    7. #6
      alex-k's Avatar
      alex-k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Peterborough , England , UK
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings have been lowered!

      sorry im not english so i will ask you 3 question :}


      1. what is tier 3?
      2. what number did you call , because when i call them they say they dnt even know what ping means :/
      3. what did you say to fix your problems
      I speak Russian / English / Lithuanian


    8. #7
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Pings have been lowered!

      A quick question. I already am on fastpath and ping bbc.co.uk at 28ms and mainly ping 20ms in cs:s and battlefield2, But with me being on fastpath already would the max delay already be set to 8 from 32 ? or would it be set at 32 ?

      i know i could just ring sky but i am affraid they will misinterpret my request as a speed issue and cap my perfect 16mbs sync to 8mbs again...

      anyhow just a thought.

      Ian
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    9. #8
      bulldog's Avatar
      bulldog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNCSN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      141
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pings have been lowered!

      Quote Originally Posted by IanMax View Post
      A quick question. I already am on fastpath and ping bbc.co.uk at 28ms and mainly ping 20ms in cs:s and battlefield2, But with me being on fastpath already would the max delay already be set to 8 from 32 ? or would it be set at 32 ?

      i know i could just ring sky but i am affraid they will misinterpret my request as a speed issue and cap my perfect 16mbs sync to 8mbs again...

      anyhow just a thought.

      Ian
      On fastpath already how ? i have a good mind to complain, because all us gamers want todo is enjoy our games.
      If you are just bragging about what you have well lucky you, your one of the lucky ones.
      Yes please ring sky tell them your on fastpath and they dont do it and to be fair to the rest of its customers and turn you off.
      Sky all i want for your first birthday and forget the draw for the laptop is to enjoy my game again thanks.
      Sky bb Max

    10. #9
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb Re: Pings have been lowered!

      Well, I had issues in the beginning with only having 8mbs on g.dmt and they took a while to sort it out but they put me on adsl2+ on 16mbs and i saw i was on fastpath which was great. I was just wondering if the max delay has the same effect on adsl2+. Some people are on fastpath maybe by mistake but *sometimes* i believe sky switch people over to it.

      I am more than happy with my connection but wondered if i could ping lower . just because.

      Btw bulldog your your comming across as being bitter.

      Do something about the problems you have with sky.

      If someone has fastpath why would they ask sky to turn it off.

      Also btw when i was on 8mbs g.dmt my pings were 25ms to 35 ms during gaming so fastpath only made about 10ms difference, So if you ping higher than 50ms i would complain to sky as the problem will either be exchange congestion or sky's network in your area, in which case you have poor service from sky, or your phoneline or internal wiring is amiss and sky cannot do anything about it.
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION