Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

    This is a discussion on Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there, New to all this so sorry if has been posted before. I am trying to set up Xbox ...

    1. #1
      furryboo's Avatar
      furryboo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

      Hi there,
      New to all this so sorry if has been posted before. I am trying to set up Xbox 360 Live with my SKy router but am having no luck. It will not pass the IP address when I select automatic. Can anybody help me please.

      Thanks to anyone who can.

      Lenny


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

      All i did was make sure you have more than 2 ip adresses setup i.e ( 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.10 in the lan setup.

      Make sure upnp is off and it should work fine.

      My xbox360 just connected and i set it up in about 5 mins after registering so all is well.
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    4. #3
      furryboo's Avatar
      furryboo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

      Don all of what you said but still failing the IP address test on xobx live?

      Please help

      Cheers

    5. #4
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

      Ethernet or wireless?


      If you have UPnP disabled on the router, then have you forwarded the relevant XBL ports to the 360?

    6. #5
      furryboo's Avatar
      furryboo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

      Wireless!

      What ports do I need to be forwarding???

      Cheers for help

      Lenny

    7. #6
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Xbox 360 set up with SKy Netgear Router

      Security enabled on the router?

      Does the 360 have the correct WPA key?

      If you have MAC filtering enabled on the router (Wireless Station Access Control), does the router have the 360's MAC address in its list of allowed devices? [router admin > Setup > Wireless Settings > Wireless Station Access List > Setup Access List).




      You need to forward the following ports:

      UDP 88
      UDP 3074
      TCP 3074

      Xbox 360: Port settings for Xbox Live

      Create a Service for each via the router's web interface (Security > Services > Add Custom Service).


      Then, create Firewall Rules for each (Security > Firewall Rules > Add INBOUND Services), with "ALLOW Always", LAN Server IP Address = Xbox's IP, WAN Users = Any, & Log = Never.


      The Xbox needs to always have the same IP.


      You can add it's MAC address to the router's Address Reservation list (Advanced > LAN IP Setup) & give it a set IP there.

      Or, simply give it a manually assigned static IP, & manual DNS, & gateway (in the Xbox's network settings).

      IP = 192.168.0.x - where "x" is a number outside of the range of IPs the router assigns via DHCP [the range can be found, & changed, on the router's interface - under Advanced > LAN IP Setup > Use As DHCP Server > Starting IP Address / Ending IP Address].


      Gateway = 192.168.0.1 [the router's IP]

      Subnet Mask = 255.255.255.0

      DNS = 192.168.0.1 [the router's IP]

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION