Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

    This is a discussion on technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam" within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; no, nothing like 2 comps together...

    1. #11
      if-only's Avatar
      if-only is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      no, nothing like 2 comps together


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      I don't use XP so I am guessing here:

      Go to start and then find control panel, go into this and then look for Network Connections or similar. In there it should show Local Area Connection if you right click on it and then then choose proerties, you should have an option to tick a box to show connections, towards the bottom of that page. This should then show the computer icons near the bottom right.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      if-only's Avatar
      if-only is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      oh dear!! iv`e tried what you said but i cant find them 2 comps even in control, ( local area ) all boxes in there are ticked, thanks for trying, at least you got me half way there

    5. #14
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      Hi Newsreader, when Port Forwarding, do you need to select inbound & outbound, with most games on online gaming as surely data is sending and recieving,through the Router Firewall, I am new to this also, cheers, Paul
      ps
      (looking forward to Sky Radio

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      Hi

      Inbound only as all outbound is allowed by default afaik




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      Quote Originally Posted by if-only View Post
      oh dear!! iv`e tried what you said but i cant find them 2 comps even in control, ( local area ) all boxes in there are ticked, thanks for trying, at least you got me half way there
      I will get my laptop back by tomorrow which has XP on it, so I can give you the proper directions.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      Quote Originally Posted by if-only View Post
      no, nothing like 2 comps together

      Go to start, find Control Panel, click on it and then find Network connections, click on it so it opens out.

      Find Local Area Connection, right click on it and then click on Properties, put a tick in Show Icon in notification area when connected. This will give you the 2 icons near the time.

      If you right click on this icon and then click status, it should show you the IP address in the format of 192.168.0.2 this is the number you need to put in the rule we made earlier.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      G-Xan's Avatar
      G-Xan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      Hey guys, sorry to jump on the bandwagon here, I know there have been a few similar posts to this previously. I play an online game called Urban Terror and I can join servers and play games quite freely (apart from those reserved for low pings - damn you sky) but like a few other people I'm having issues trying to set up my own game. I have set up port-forwarding, windows firewall is disabled and I disabled the Avast anti-virus protection I have. Still though, people can't find the server or join it. Anyone have other ideas on what could be stopping it?
      Cheers, G

    10. #19
      if-only's Avatar
      if-only is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      hi,G-XAN
      news reader has got me to the point where other people can see my game server on serious sam, but when they try to join it keeps kicking them off, by the way how do you disable avast firewall????

    11. #20
      G-Xan's Avatar
      G-Xan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: technical - can't act as server on "Serious Sam"

      It runs an 'On-access Scanner' which you should be able to see as a Round Blue 'A' icon in your system tray (bottom right of your screen). I right-clicked on that and selected the 'Stop on-access protection' option. That just pauses the various scans it has running on your internet activity, you can just right-click the icon again to resume that. I'm not entirely sure if it actually impacts on your games but I disabled it just incase, plus one less thing running might help your general speed!
      Hope that makes sense and/or helps!
      G

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION