Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

    This is a discussion on PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems) within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; DownStream Connection Speed 5536 kbps UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps...

    1. #11
      maverick47's Avatar
      maverick47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      DownStream Connection Speed 5536 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      Last edited by Tezcatlipoca; 10-05-07 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Removal of IP, MAC, etc.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      maverick47's Avatar
      maverick47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      Hi Tezcatlipoca some times my down speed is between 5 and 7 kbps,also turned off UPnP last night some thing happened again.

    4. #13
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      Hi maverick,


      Sorry, not quite the stats I was interested in above!


      Have a read of this:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html


      ... & post the attenuation & noise margin please.


      btw, I've edited your previous post, to remove private info such as your IP address & MAC address, & also remove the irellevant stuff.

    5. #14
      maverick47's Avatar
      maverick47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      sorry about that new 2 all this ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6208 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 4.1 db 14.0 db
      Thanks for removing the private info
      Last edited by maverick47; 10-05-07 at 10:55 PM.

    6. #15
      maverick47's Avatar
      maverick47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      Think it could be down 2 this port forwarding not 2 sure where 2 put things and if they are right.

    7. #16
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      I doubt it's that.


      Your connection is very poor

      Your noise margin is awful. Really awful.

      4.1dB when you posted it... no wonder you have problems.


      I'd expect your connection to have a lot of errors too.


      Have a read through this:

      PLEASE READ FIRST: How to obtain and post router stats

      And maybe post your detailed stats.


      You really need to find what's causing you to have such a terrible noise margin.

      Do you connect the router to the BT master, or to an extension?

      Do you have a fairly modern NTE5 BT master socket? It has a removable "faceplate" (the lower front half). If you take out the two screws, you can pull the faceplate off, revealing the test socket behind it. Plug the router into that (the test socket, behind the faceplate), run it for a while, & then see what the noise margin is. If it is higher than however you normally connect, then it's gonna be something at your end causing the problem.

      You can try & improve on a poor noise margin by e.g. removing the ring wire, fitting a filtered faceplate, etc.

      See:

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/


      If you have a read of the link I posted before...

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html

      ... it gives advice on noise margin issues & disconnections, & suggests ways of helping things.

    8. #17
      maverick47's Avatar
      maverick47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      Thanks m8 for all your help

    9. #18
      maverick47's Avatar
      maverick47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7104 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 9.5
      Max(Kbps): 7712 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 7104 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 223(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 223 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0714 8.6153
      L: 1792 208
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 64104 64102
      SFErr: 4 0
      RS: 4359082 544867
      RSCorr: 8959 0
      RSUnCorr: 17 0

      HEC: 4 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 18263579 0
      Data Cells: 761945 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 19 0
      Total time = 18 min 37 sec
      SF = 64104
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 1 day time = 18 min 37 sec
      SF = 64104
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 37 sec
      SF = 12821
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51283
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    10. #19
      D White's Avatar
      D White is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01505
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 & 360 connection problems (was Re: PS3 connection problems)

      Hi there everyone hope you can help me .I have had both sky broadband and also my ps3 since launch date and both have been going great untill now. Since i updated to 2.1 on my ps3 it will only stay on the ps network for around 5 mins then it says a error and chucks me out of my game i am in ...I have the netgear wireless router(the standard one that comes with system) but connect with a wired connection .My pc and laptop work fine and both dont shut down at same point (not had both on at same time as ps3 so not 2 overload) .....

      Now tonight i am going 2 reset my ps3 back 2 default settings and also reset my router 2 see if this helps but appart from that i really dont know how 2 get around this problem.Tried phoneing sky ......answer = We dont support the playstation network must be a fualt with it.....Phoned playstation they say network is fine and have had no complaints since resent update .....

      This is really starting 2 annoy me but dont know what 2 do ....it is as if the system is running very slow ...actually some times it says system is takeing a long time 2 connect check settings ....run a check threw ps3 and everything is ok ..

      Please help as i really dont know where else 2 go....As per inputting info and stuff plz can you make it simple 2 understand as i will try anything but not really good at updateing and inputing info but will try my best


      PLEASE HELP

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION