Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    PS3 connection problems

    This is a discussion on PS3 connection problems within the Gaming on Sky forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Dear All I have a PS3 wired to my Sky modem, DG834GT. Occassionaly, say once each evening, while online the ...

    1. #1
      stevie28's Avatar
      stevie28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      PS3 connection problems

      Dear All

      I have a PS3 wired to my Sky modem, DG834GT. Occassionaly, say once each evening, while online the connection will drop saying it's lost the ethernet connection. So, I did a connection test and it came up with the following:

      UPNP: Unavailable and NAT 2

      Does anyone know what can be done to change the status to available and NAT 1? Is this a problem specific to this modem?

      Thanks, Steven


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      Try disabling the uPnP see if it makes a difference?

    4. #3
      stevie28's Avatar
      stevie28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Try disabling the uPnP see if it makes a difference?
      No, it makes the connection worse giving it a NAT 3. Any other ideas? I tried downloading the latest firmware for the modem from Netgear but it wouldn't update it

    5. #4
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NowTV 40/10 & VM 200 Gamer
      Router: Netgear R7000 with XWRT-Vortex
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,233
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 140 Times in 107 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      have you opened up the following ports on your router that the PS3 needs?

      TCP 80
      TCP 443
      TCP 5223
      UDP 3478
      UDP 3479
      UDP 3658

    6. #5
      stevie28's Avatar
      stevie28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      have you opened up the following ports on your router that the PS3 needs?

      TCP 80
      TCP 443
      TCP 5223
      UDP 3478
      UDP 3479
      UDP 3658
      Sorry to sound stupid, but how do you open ports on the modem? Is it outbound firewall rules? If so, what do I put in LAN Server? Thanks

    7. #6
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      You need to first "Add Custom Service" [under "Security" > "Services"] for each of the relevant ports listed above.


      Then you need to create "Firewall Rules" for each of those services, and they must be "Inbound Services" not Outbound.

      "LAN Server" = the IP address of the PS3. The PS3 therefore needs to always have the same IP.

      If the PS3 gets its IP automatically via DHCP, then add the PS3's MAC address to the "Address Reservation" under Advanced > LAN IP Setup, so that the PS3 always gets the same IP from the router.

      Or, give the PS3 a manually assigned static IP [one which is not in the range that the router dishes out via DHCP... the range can be changed]. Use 192.168.0.1 (the router's IP) for both the Gateway IP and the DNS IP, & 255.255.255.0 for the subnet mask.

    8. #7
      SpankyWhizzbang's Avatar
      SpankyWhizzbang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Falkirk
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by stevie28 View Post
      Dear All

      I have a PS3 wired to my Sky modem, DG834GT. Occassionaly, say once each evening, while online the connection will drop saying it's lost the ethernet connection. So, I did a connection test and it came up with the following:

      UPNP: Unavailable and NAT 2

      Does anyone know what can be done to change the status to available and NAT 1? Is this a problem specific to this modem?

      Thanks, Steven
      I don't think you'll get the status to change to NAT1 - NAT2 means that you're connected through a router so that's fine. You only really need to worry if you're on NAT3 My PS3 says the same thing about UPNP and NAT and I was getting the same problem last night - it only seemed to happen on Motorstorm though - are you getting the error on the same game?

    9. #8
      stevie28's Avatar
      stevie28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      Thanks, I'll give that a go.

    10. #9
      stevie28's Avatar
      stevie28 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      Quote Originally Posted by SpankyWhizzbang View Post
      I don't think you'll get the status to change to NAT1 - NAT2 means that you're connected through a router so that's fine. You only really need to worry if you're on NAT3 My PS3 says the same thing about UPNP and NAT and I was getting the same problem last night - it only seemed to happen on Motorstorm though - are you getting the error on the same game?
      It actually happened when I was playing virtua tennis 3 which doesn't play online. But during the game it came up saying ethernet connection lost or something like that. I've changed the udp/tcp settings, will see how that goes. I'm still curious as to how we get UPNP as available on the PS3?
      Last edited by stevie28; 06-04-07 at 11:43 AM.

    11. #10
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: PS3 connection problems

      If the ethernet connection went down, then it may well have been due to the router rebooting itself.


      If it was the net connection being lost, there'd still be an ethernet connection.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION