Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

    This is a discussion on DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost! within the Extracting Sky Router passwords forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I've just purchased a Netgear DGN2200 N300 wireless router after running a DGN2000 for a month and then having the ...

    1. #1
      Karist's Avatar
      Karist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Northampton, UK
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      I've just purchased a Netgear DGN2200 N300 wireless router after running a DGN2000 for a month and then having the wifi fail. However, I am struggling to get the settings working correctly. Can anyone advise what options I should be selecting and details I need? I have the 'mac@skydsl' and the hex password but not sure where they need to be entered. The fields on the setup screen seem to be rather different from the previous model...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      If you don't know too much about setting up your router the best thing to do is run the setup assistant from the CD. If you don't fancy that, reset the router to default by pushing a pin into the reset button. You should now get the option of using the Setup Wizard, use this and it will lead you through everything you need to do. Apart from the username and password, you need to check the following main settings are correct.
      Encapsulation:...... PPPoA
      VPI...........................0
      VCI...........................38
      Multiplexing: .........VC
      Idle timeout............0

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      acstua's Avatar
      acstua is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      ive just got a DGN2200 and having issues with it connecting

      the ADSL2 Line is up etc but it just wont get an IP

      Possibly something to do with the MAC addy of the router not being able to be spoofed with the Sky Routers :/

      Can only spoof it if you dont provide login details

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      You don't need to spoof the MAC, the logins are all thats needed. Them and the other settings (PPPoA, VPI/VCI, MTU=1500, etc)

      Here = Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      acstua's Avatar
      acstua is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      ive set all the other stuff it just never seems to get an IP :/

      it was to replace one of the newer DLink Sky routers

    7. #6
      acstua's Avatar
      acstua is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      "Some problems are DHCP related and can be fixed by copious quantities of rebooting! "

      Guess ill try that for a bit lol..

    8. #7
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      I suppose it might be a stale session. If it is, connecting using the "sky test" user name and password should clear it, although I'm not sure if that login still works.

      user name = bt_test@startup_domain
      password = cityhall

      Don't know if it will work on your Netgear, but it is possible to spoof the MAC on a Netgear DG834N by selecting the no login option and setting it up for a IPOA connection with the required WAN MAC, then once the IPOA settings are accepted,manually setting it back up as a normal PPPoA connection. It is also possible on the dg834 range to change the wan_macaddr setting via telnet.

    9. #8
      Karist's Avatar
      Karist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Northampton, UK
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      Finality got it to connect. It seems that it was fussy what order the settings are entered. Also, it sat for quite a while with the red 'no internet' light on and then suddenly sprang into life. It's been fine ever since and I'm enjoying a fast wifi connection once more, especially noticeable with my iPhone 4 which now downloads mail and websites faster than my laptop!

      Thanks for everyone's support on this.

      Rich

    10. #9
      webdesign31's Avatar
      webdesign31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01793
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      Quote Originally Posted by Karist View Post
      Finality got it to connect. It seems that it was fussy what order the settings are entered. Also, it sat for quite a while with the red 'no internet' light on and then suddenly sprang into life. It's been fine ever since and I'm enjoying a fast wifi connection once more, especially noticeable with my iPhone 4 which now downloads mail and websites faster than my laptop!

      Thanks for everyone's support on this.

      Rich

      Hi rich,

      I hope you can pleeeaaassee help me too, i have just purchased the same router, however have never really set one up previously, and do not understand why sky will not assist me.

      I have the DGN2200 and have local acccess which is fine but no internet access. I am using vista.

      I dont understand your message ref the hex and @dsl reference. Sky will not give me a username and password, and im finding them very unhelpful.

      Please can you ssist me. i would really appreciate it

      Thanks & Kindest regards
      Mark
      Last edited by Saturday; 12-11-10 at 04:17 PM. Reason: Removed email

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DGN2200 and Sky settings. I'm lost!

      I hope you can pleeeaaassee help me too, i have just purchased the same router, however have never really set one up previously
      That is why Sky supply routers ready set up and ready to use and why they have included that you must use the Sky router in the T & Cs. Sky support will not give you any help with setting up your own router, never have done and probably never will do.

      All the details you need to set up a router are post 2 of this thread and more fully explained in this one-
      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

      Methods of obtaining the username and password are in the first 2 stickies in this section-
      Extracting Sky Router passwords

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION